NOT a very Catskill Kiwi

You may have noticed I haven’t been posting very many Catskill updates these days… I have however been extremely lucky to have had a lot of work lately which keeps me tied to NYC and away from my beloved mountain! BUT with this past three day holiday weekend I ran around like a crazy lunatic, to the background cries from Mr Weiss of  “slow down, slow down, pace yourself, be calm!” nonetheless I wanted to whip everything into shape whilst I have the time and the gorgeous weather on my side.

I weeded, hoed, mowed, sowed, watered, mulched, pruned and generally drove myself into an exhausted tizzy, the temperatures topped out at around 86F up here, which means I also sweated my ass off whilst exhibiting this obsessive behavior!

Oh well, but boy am I happy with the results… check it out. Things are growing like CAR-RAZY!

1. my absolute favorite, peonies, just waiting for them to open.

2. the beginning of a black iris

3. two huge giant plant type things, which I swear there was only one type last year

1. the blueberry bush loaded with flowers

2. the small japanese maple looking brighter and better than it ever has before

3. the lawn, grass is thigh high, no joke! with us not being here and all the rain the lawn has reached a code red situation… I did what I could with our mower but it’s probably time to call in the big gun and get the neighbor next door to bush hog it all back

the vege garden with some triffid like chives taking total control. I have six raised beds measuring 12 ft by 2 ft… so far I have them split this way.

Bed 1: all baby lettuces

Bed 2: split beets and radishes

Bed 3: split 2 tomato plants and 8 ball zucchini + 1 tomato plant

Bed 4: split 2 tomato plants and cucumbers

Bed 5: split 2 tomato plants + small pepper plant and kale

Bed 6 split shell peas and sugar snap peas

I am beside myself watching everything grow, so far the most satisfying must be the radish which seem to appear instantly, they only take 21 days (plum purple, english breakfast) before we will be pulling and eating AND I cannot wait.

AND we went beserk grilling all weekend.

1. Mexican Corn recipe here, spicy shrimp skewers, recipe here, cold borscht soup… recipe here.

2. Scallop burgers, recipe coming, grilled asparagus

3. grilled fava beans, mexican corn (again) and sausages (chicken for me, tofu for Mr Weiss)

6 Comments

  1. Posted May 31, 2011 at 8:07 am | Permalink

    Beautiful garden but I especially love that Japanese maple!

    • thecatskillkiwi
      Posted May 31, 2011 at 8:12 am | Permalink

      thanks!
      this is my own little slice of paradise.

  2. Posted May 31, 2011 at 10:25 am | Permalink

    Mmmm… peonies! Those “giant plant type things” are hostas. 🙂

  3. Mame Johnston
    Posted May 31, 2011 at 3:06 pm | Permalink

    The big bushy type of plants in photo three are hostas and yes, there are two varieties there. They are very beautiful specimens, for sure. Your gardens are wonderful. We’re heading up in 3 weeks from yesterday. Perhaps I’ll run into you THIS time! LOL!

    Mame

    • thecatskillkiwi
      Posted May 31, 2011 at 4:59 pm | Permalink

      you will see me lurking EVERYWHERE for sure!! you missed a truly spectacular weekend here… i am hoping summer will not disappoint!!

  4. jill
    Posted May 31, 2011 at 4:22 pm | Permalink

    I feel tired just looking at what you achieved! Well done!


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

