I made tea!

Okay so you’re probably thinking making tea is hardly a challenge, well my friends I made COMPOST tea. When we bought the wee house the previous owners had a scrap pile in the woods surrounded by chicken wire, which for the most part worked well other than it gave me the heebee geebees going back into the woods to compost and then finally something ripped the chicken wire apart… my next upgrade was this thing…

cheap at $29.99 available here, but completely useless, all the reviews of the plastic sticks bending and breaking are true. This thing also blew over more than once and it can be a bit of a back breaker reaching in to churn over the compost.  On the lookout for a new contraption which doesn’t cost a fortune, there are some pretty pricey ones out there, I found this one…

I bought this at good ole Home Depot on sale for $65.00 bucks.  So far so good, it spins well, its sturdy, and it seems to be working so far!  However in winter I can’t trudge through the drifts of snow to get to it, so it sits there all winter happily stewing in its own juices… um literally.  My friend Amy gave me this little guy to try out.

The Happy Farmer Bokashi Compost Starter… yes a bit of a mouthful. And this thing works… In about two weeks I had half a quart of tea to dilute down and give the garden a big ole injection of nutrients.

Mr Weiss did the math for me, 1 tsp of tea diluted into a 5L watering can.  Last night I dreamed when I woke up this morning the plants had grown into triffids overnight… um hope they still look the same.

3 Comments

  1. coconutandquinoa
    Posted May 10, 2011 at 4:07 pm | Permalink

    I am so glad it’s working for you…how’s the smell?
    Guess it’s enough tea to water the whole lawn too!

  2. thecatskillkiwi
    Posted May 10, 2011 at 4:24 pm | Permalink

    smells weird… can’t quite describe it, but yes it certainly makes enough tea to cover EVERYTHING!

  3. jill
    Posted May 10, 2011 at 5:15 pm | Permalink

    Your one in the woods looks like a rotissere oven! imagine whats cooking!


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

