hydrangeas

I am obsessed with Hydrangea trees. Yip absolutely obsessed! and they are one of the things… along with sunflowers, that grow crazy up here.  Big, beautiful dripping flower heads of muted pinks, greens and whites, they are stunning.

These amazing examples are at Kerns Nursery on Route 23C, which by the way is one of the most gorgeous roads to drive along.  This is my fantasy tree and we got one, okay a smaller version but hopefully in a few years time it will resemble whats above.

We dragged it around the house before settling on a spot, mostly sunny but with some shade, but more importantly where I can see it from the house easily.

grow little tree grow… this one now adds to the couple of hydrangea’s existing around the house…

big puffy balls that turn dusty pink late summer, this one is almost up to the window!

this one is a different variety and the individual flowers on the cones are huge.

I planted this small bush, and a friend told me that if I buried a steel wool with it, the flowers would turn blue…

cool right?

this makes me very happy!

Unfortunately now they are brown dried preserved relics of what they once were, but I sure did enjoy them at the time. But in the meantime I found this Mulberry Campaign images here.

come spring you know I’m going to prancing about wearing something from here and surrounding myself with these!

8 Comments

  1. Posted January 17, 2011 at 3:55 pm | Permalink

    I love these flowers, they look so luxurious. How amazing with the steel wool trick too 🙂

  2. Jill
    Posted January 17, 2011 at 5:13 pm | Permalink

    My favourites too! Your one is on more of a tree. Our ones here in NZ are on bushes, and grow best as a hedge. The changes in colour are due to the acid or alkaline or your soil. Pink/Purple are alkaline, Blue is acid – not sure on White? so you can enrich your soil depending on the colour you like!

  3. Mame Johnston
    Posted January 17, 2011 at 7:25 pm | Permalink

    If you pass a Starbucks on your way to the Catskills, stop and ask them for a bag of coffee grounds or two. They provide the acid-loving plants with the nutrients to turn them blue.

  4. Mame Johnston
    Posted January 17, 2011 at 7:27 pm | Permalink

    Just kidding about passing a Starbucks. Aren’t they on every corner?

    • thecatskillkiwi
      Posted January 17, 2011 at 9:40 pm | Permalink

      they are certainly on every corner in NYC! I will definitely try adding the coffee grounds to the soil. thanks!!

  5. Alice
    Posted January 18, 2011 at 4:14 am | Permalink

    Hi,

    I am the editor of a low-cost interior decorating site http://www.aliceindesignland.com. I love your blog and photos of your home you have showcased, and wondered if you might be interested in submitting photos for a house tour on our site? If so, please email me at alice@aliceindesignland.com or reply with your contact information. Thanks.

  6. Posted January 19, 2011 at 8:40 pm | Permalink

    LOVE your Hydrangeas! Wow, when you commented on my blog that you have them in The Catskills, I never imagined they would be so abundant! The colours are so beautiful. Gorgeous.

    P.S Thanks for linking back to my blog and for being a reader. Love your blog too.

    Lisa xx

    • thecatskillkiwi
      Posted January 20, 2011 at 10:22 am | Permalink

      thank you!
      it’s always nice to hear from fellow bloggers!


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

