tomato breakdown

So last week Mr Weiss and I picked every tomato we had, loaded up a not-so-chic cart and hot footed it, via Amtrak, back to NYC.  I’ll be damned if I was going to let any of my precious first year grown tomatoes go to waste, but seeing as we will be in the city for a few weeks, as I return to work, I figured we’d best bring em with us…

fake Pucci-esk granny cart fully loaded with mostly green tomatoes and the more precious ripened ones in boxes in the bag beside it.  I put together a list of what I have grown this year, courtesy of my tomato guru Gabriel, who every year saves his seeds, replants them and then hands over to me a variety of seedlings.

So starting with my favorite…

Peach

medium to small sized, this plant went BANANA’S and produced an unbelievable amount for it’s size, it also took over most of the garden box it was growing in!  Sweet, tender, juicy and so flavorful. Hands down our favorite.

Followed closely by…

Black Prince

medium sized, a black and dark red stunner. Amazing looking when you cut into it… bursting with flavor, delicious. Great cut into wedges for salads.

Ruby

large.  A big beef-steaky type, brilliant bright red, one slice will fit on all your burgers and sandwiches. I also used the green ones for my Fried Green Tomatoes… recipe coming soon.  The plant itself didn’t produce a huge amount but they were so heavy the limbs bent to touch the ground.

Vintage

large.  This tomato came about when tomato guru Gabriel last year spent $9 for a single tomato! Getting his monies worth he saved the seeds and re-seeded it this year.  The outcome, huge, knobbly most heirloom looking of the bunch. Bright luscious red color.  I actually couldn’t tell the taste difference between this one and Ruby, but makes a great slicing tomato.

Black Cherry

small.  Who doesn’t like a cherry tomato!! Super cute, bursting with flavor, a little different from your regular red or yellow ones. Great for salads.

San Marzano

medium long torpedo shaped. This plant also produced an amazing amount! An absolutely fantastic tomato for cooking. I have made quarts and quarts and quarts of sauce with these guys. They break down wonderfully in the cooking process and produce and hearty flavorful fabulous consistency for sauces.

Fireworks

medium, plum shaped.  This one I didn’t really know what to think.  I didn’t particularly like the texture inside, we think that the original seed may have crossbred with a San Marzano from last year?  I did however turn this into sauce as well and it cooked down wonderfully.

All in all growing tomatoes has quite honestly been one of the most exciting things I have done, okay that might make me sound a little boring! but it was so rewarding, exciting and extremely satisfying, picking and eating and seeing the unbelievable difference between a home grown tomato and an insipid store bought one!

You can never go back!!

PS and on an entirely different note, dinner on Friday at Del Posto was fantastic, followed by The Lion King, which was truly spectacular.  If you’re in NYC and you haven’t seen it, GO!  Tickets are reasonably priced right now and it’s really and event not to be missed!

3 Comments

  1. Sarah
    Posted September 27, 2010 at 10:00 pm | Permalink

    Nice cart!

    • thecatskillkiwi
      Posted September 28, 2010 at 8:35 am | Permalink

      yes it’s great that it comes in handy!

  2. Jill
    Posted September 28, 2010 at 1:52 am | Permalink

    Tomato Geek! love the grannie cart, reminds me our our devonport Nana! LOL


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

