fashion week

That’ right its fashion week here in NYC and you can’t swing a cat in Soho without hitting a ridiculously skinny, size triple zero model, totally under-dressed and freezing.  I couldn’t tell one from the other, what a shocker – no variety, good god, it’s so boring.

Fashion week! Seriously people who is it for?? The 0.05 percentile that would and could actually afford this stuff…. what about for the rest of us who like fashion, LOVE fashion.  The people that want to make it totally unapproachable and unattainable either by price or by design, $600 bucks for a t-shirt, I don’t think so and swanning down to the deli in some ridiculous over the top creation – ahh hardly.

I think fashion takes itself just a tad too seriously.  What about the little people?  I regularly check out these sites, Refinery29, whowhatweardaily.com, style.com, dailycandy.com for fashion ideas and trends but to actually BUY anything, are you joking… the examples these regularly list as MUST HAVES are always in the hundreds of dollars… who’s buying that? seriously WHO??

It’s either too expensive or cheap disposable clothing that I’m not really interested in either… H&M, Urban Outfitters, Gap etc, I was going to included JCrew, but somewhere along the lines I blinked and missed the $600 price tag this typically low-end clothing USED to have.

I don’t think it has to be this way… which is part of why I started my little online store, for the fashionista in you that doesn’t want to part with a stupid amount of money.  (yes shameless plug here). HA.

3 Comments

  1. Posted September 13, 2010 at 6:06 pm | Permalink

    haha with the first sentence of your post you reminded me of the sex and the city ‘modeliser’ episode there for a second …

    but yes, I agree with you 100%, the fashion industry is designed for a tiny percentage of people, I get the distinct impression they don’t want us normal folk wearing their ubercool clothes anyway (duh). Well not me at least, I’m 5 foot 3!

  2. Jill
    Posted September 15, 2010 at 5:39 am | Permalink

    Fashion is all out youth! if you are not under twenty, or just over twenty, you are a washed up heap, and not worth a mention! Thats why so much dumb money is spent on the quest for eternal youth! Plastic surgery, botox…
    Love the shameless plug! thank god we have you as a conscious! I’m going to check out your sites

    • thecatskillkiwi
      Posted September 15, 2010 at 9:13 am | Permalink

      Yes unfortunately our culture is youth obsessed, but I still refuse to believe that there isn’t a market of un-botoxed, over “twenty” who are interested and love fashion.


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

