garden update…

Back upstate again and I went tearing down to the garden to see what I had missed… remember this little guy…

well let me introduce you to this BAD BOY!

I swear every time I turn around this melon GETS BIGGER… kinda scary.

How about this cute thing for a massive “oh shame!”

hardly a vineyard… but it’s a start! and they WERE green…

the kale continues to truck along and along and along and along…. we have been picking and eating this since early June I think and it shows no sign of slowing down.

and competing with the kale for the “I’m going to take over the universe, or rather, garden”, title is cucumber plant! steadily increasing it’s size over the other beds… I think the poor broccoli beside it, doesn’t stand a chance.

it’s laden with these delicious cucumbers that are super CRUNCHY!

the tomato plants however needed some help, they are so laden with tomatoes (YAY) and have so outgrown their support cages they are practically ripping them out of the ground.  I had to tie them onto the fence to anchor and support them, which is now a maze of tomato limbs and twine.  It’s like doing the “limbo” to get through.

and I am greedily wringing my hands in anticipation of my FIRST year of growing my own tomatoes! can’t be too much longer…

9 Comments

  1. Posted August 9, 2010 at 5:22 pm | Permalink

    You garden looks amazing and I know the work involved in that.
    Yum Yum

  2. Jill
    Posted August 11, 2010 at 5:17 am | Permalink

    Did you manage to be rid of the blight?/alien spot on tomatoe leaf in recent post?

    • thecatskillkiwi
      Posted August 11, 2010 at 1:42 pm | Permalink

      turns out it was some other tomato-ey infliction, not contagious, i lobbed it off the other plants are flne! yay

  3. Posted August 18, 2010 at 10:40 am | Permalink

    Kia Ora again, I was going to bed but clicked on your garden and it looks great. I too am a garden fanatic and have just put in alot of veg seeds and hopefully when I get back from NZ they will be ready to plant thats if my daughter keeps an eye on things.

  4. Posted August 24, 2010 at 3:36 am | Permalink

    Your tomatoes are doing well than my tomatoes. I got problems with blossom end rot in my tomatoes and I keep on sprinkling them with fresh milk but nothing changed. They say that it has problems with calcium. Can I use some calcium tablets?

    • thecatskillkiwi
      Posted August 24, 2010 at 10:21 am | Permalink

      i think calcium tablets would be fine, but i will ask my tomato guru! keep you posted.

  5. Posted September 1, 2010 at 3:42 am | Permalink

    Blossom end rot is really a problem of mine too. I already using calcium tablets but nothing happen and now my tomato plant is really dying because of the total heat here. Maybe I will just plant a new one. By the way your garden really looks great!

  6. Posted September 15, 2010 at 6:04 am | Permalink

    I don’t have problems with blossom end rot in my tomatoes but my tomatoes have splitting areas and I don’t know why they are splitting. Good for you that you have an adviser in your gardening activity. I wished that I have also an adviser.

    • thecatskillkiwi
      Posted September 15, 2010 at 9:09 am | Permalink

      I think the “splitting” is from too much rain, or watering, the tomato becomes waterlogged and the skin starts to “split”. This is what I heard from another friend.


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

