feathers a flyin

It was a pretty quiet weekend around here up at the wee house, with only the slightest bit of drama from our friendly feathered friends.  Mr Weiss and I were enjoying our morning cuppa when we heard a loud thud behind us, up to this point the bird community had been making quite a racket amongst itself, and there was certainly some commotion happening along the gutter.

We peeked outside expecting to be confonted by some huge thing capable of making such a loud noise, only to find this little guy hyperventilating and on his side quite stunned.

we gently nudged him onto his feet and not wanting to add to his trauma left him alone to collect himself.  I kept checking back on him and after about an hour when I looked and the porch was vacant, I thought oh he’d made it… wrong

poor little dude totally wiped himself out.  You never really get a chance to look at birds so up close and personal I was pretty mesmerized by him…

so pretty, his tiny wee feathers, the pattern on his chest and then a double stripe down his head, wee beak, delicate feet.  Once Mr Weiss could tear me away from my complete inspection we gave him a decent wood burial.  I just hope his mates saw what happened and let that be a lesson learned… steer clear from the windows, they’re not even that clean!!

The rest of the weekend was spent with me documenting the gardens progress after a couple of good downpours and some lovely sunshine in between, finally some major activity.  Finally the tomatoes and the cucumber’s flowers have turned.

a cuke

this ridiculous cute fella is the minuscule beginnings of a melon… very exciting.

shame right? So with the birds still chirping, or harassing each other or whatever they do and the butterflies fluttering it was all happy days until I spied this!!

WHAAAAT!!!! oh no, what the hell is this black spot, surely not the BLIGHTY??? In my head I’ve already eaten countless juicy, flavorful tomatoes picked and grown by my own fair hands,  I am not equipped to deal and be disappointed by THIS! It so far is only on one tomato (tumbling tom), can anyone shed any light?

7 Comments

  1. Gabriel
    Posted July 26, 2010 at 10:10 pm | Permalink

    I told you to watch out for this. You don’t listen! It’s blossom end rot. It’s a calcium deficiency. Too much water or not enough water, too much nitrogen possibly in your fertilizer. You can buy a preventative spray at your garden center. Perfectly natural, not chemicals. Cut that one off and keep your eye on the others. Plum tomatoes are quite prone to this.

  2. thecatskillkiwi
    Posted July 26, 2010 at 10:15 pm | Permalink

    You told me you would let me know about this “blossom end rot” if it ever happened, i guess it’s happened! I’m not sure if this is something that spreads to other tomatoes, but this is an isolated case so far. The tumbling tom is in his own hanging basket container nowhere near the other tomatoes. I will look for spray!

  3. Jill
    Posted July 27, 2010 at 2:15 am | Permalink

    Are you sure it’s not the Alien machine from War of the Worlds………

  4. Marjorie
    Posted July 28, 2010 at 1:27 pm | Permalink

    Yeah, I agree with Jill … looks like the alien machine from War of the Worlds … if it is, those guys are pretty resilient — I know, I saw the movie … you’re going to need something a little stronger than just the spray…

  5. Marjorie
    Posted July 28, 2010 at 1:30 pm | Permalink

    Oh yeah, sorry about the bird … so sad … did you find out what caused his/her demise?

    • thecatskillkiwi
      Posted July 28, 2010 at 8:48 pm | Permalink

      I think the little bird hit the window…

  6. Melanie
    Posted August 17, 2010 at 11:59 am | Permalink

    It was an oven bird, and the same thing happened at our Catskills place Aug 7, although I didn’t see our bird alive. You’d recognize its call, which increases in volume. It’s rare to see one. Strange coincidence. Poor lil guys.


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

