a veggie meal for Mr Weiss

A nice healthy summer meal… see I can be a good wife, not a slab o meat in sight.  Go me!

mozz salad

Sauteed Broccoli Rabe

1 bunch rabe, roughly chopped and blanched (simmer water and dunk rabe in for about 2 mins, drain).  saute 3 cloves garlic, sliced, in olive oil until just golden add broccoli rabe, salt and pepper toss and heat through.

Sauteed Mushrooms

8 oz sliced mushrooms, 2 shallots chopped, 3 cloves garlic sliced, 1/3 c cream, 2 tbsp butter, 2 tsp olive oil, 1 tbs sherry (optional).

Heat butter and olive oil and saute mushrooms until golden, add shallots and garlic and saute a few minutes, add cream and sherry if using and mix well… cook another 2 mins until cream is reduced and incorporated. Season with salt and pepper.

Mozzarella, Tomato, Basil Salad…. exactly how it sounds, but do yourself a favor and use the BEST ingredients you can find, come on there is only three.  Slice, arrange with alternating ingredients, sprinkle julienne basil on top, drizzle with good olive oil and a big pinch of salt.

Have a great weekend, y’all.

2 Comments

  1. Janet Hale
    Posted July 23, 2010 at 5:52 pm | Permalink

    This sounds wonderful!! Can’t wait to taste my first garden tomato of the year.

  2. Posted July 26, 2010 at 12:50 pm | Permalink

    The tomato, Mozzarella, and basil salad (Calabrese salad) is an absolute favourite of mine. So easy to make. I have a bottle of a balsamic vinegar dressing that I just add to when I get low which is lovely with the salad. I also use a garlic, lemon juice and olive oil dressing for a change of pace.

    These days, you can get different types of Mozzerella at the grocery store, from the big balls to pea-sized and I grab what is available.

    Often, I throw the salad on top of spring greens or a a rocket salad for a full meal.

    I am loving your recipes!


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

