attack of the killer bees…

Okay not quite but I did get stung by a wasp this weekend… OMG when was the last time you can remember being stung? I swear to god I think they’ve gotten bionic over the years.  I’m no wuss I can assure you, but I was writhing on the floor in agony, 10 seconds after being stung on me toe, wailing at Mr Weiss “do something, do something!”.  Always calm in a panic, NO NOT ME, HIM, Mr Weiss whipped out his computer looked up homemade remedy for bee sting and promptly mixed up a potion of vinegar and baking soda to slather me foot with it.  It was a wild ride man, a wild ride. my whole left arm started tingling and going numb, and that’s just the norm for us nonallergic lucky ones.

Seriously those memories from childhood about getting stung, going “OUCH ” then going merrily about your day are quite plainly WRONG.  I had to have a lay down, a cuppa tea and and spent a quiet afternoon hobbling and recovering. This happened on Saturday and my foot still looks like raw meat, all red and swollen, so consider yourselves warned and RUN should you be in any flying stinging creatures vicinity.

excuse the poor pedicure but I am illustrating the baking soda/vinegar paste which worked great, apparently toothpaste will also do the trick.

swelling which was taken yesterday, it’s increased up to my ankle… not sure where it’s headed either!

5 Comments

  1. patty reed
    Posted July 12, 2010 at 3:43 pm | Permalink

    A paste of Adolf’s meat tenderizer & water works great foe stings.

    • thecatskillkiwi
      Posted July 12, 2010 at 5:15 pm | Permalink

      good to know, hopefully i won’t have to use!

  2. Joelle Hoverson
    Posted July 12, 2010 at 11:24 pm | Permalink

    Another helpful antidote is to take an antacid (like tums). Seriously, it works wonders and gives almost immediate relief. It good to keep tums in your first aid kit for this!

    • thecatskillkiwi
      Posted July 14, 2010 at 7:57 am | Permalink

      Good to know! thanks for that…

  3. Jill
    Posted July 13, 2010 at 2:32 am | Permalink

    Chilled cold water is best right at the beginning. I then used a daily soak of Malt Vinegar, and covered with a high dose of Manuka Honey which sealed the wounds between vinegar soaks! I got stung this year 4 times on my arm/hand when I disturbed a Wasp Nest, they were crawling all over my front…few choice words where said, then I rushed to the creek water to soothe. They are nasty!


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

