vertical garden 2.0

Well I finally had to do something about this mess …

winter was not kind to you my friend!

May I present VG 2.0 to restore you to your former glory and devise the actual hanging part of frame.

I decided instead of trying to rig some complicated wire hanging system, to just attach some heavy metal hinges to the top of the frame with the idea that once the garden has set it’s roots I will invert and screw directly into the side of the barn, it’s place of honor.

new beautiful succulents…

I followed the routine and lay down a nice bed of sorghum moss, then light soil then the plants… it’s a bit sparse this time, but I’m going to make sure everything is surviving before I fill in the gaps.  This is what it looked like last year….

This is where I am now…

the garden has been sitting flat whilst the plants take root, unfortunately they haven’t rooted enough, because when Mr Weiss and I tried to hang it horizontally a couple of my friends departed their mossy bed for the ground.  ARGH!! foiled, what to do, what to do? Thoughts anyone??

8 Comments

  1. Posted June 30, 2010 at 4:07 pm | Permalink

    I love it!

  2. Posted June 30, 2010 at 6:14 pm | Permalink

    That netting stuff and you squeeze the roots through and fan them out the back. The use that sort of stuff on Highways where the planting is sloping.

  3. thecatskillkiwi
    Posted June 30, 2010 at 6:46 pm | Permalink

    oh okay, thats a good idea!

  4. Posted June 30, 2010 at 11:13 pm | Permalink

    I’m using burlap for mine, which will hopefully make for a firmer gripping structure. I haven’t actually planted yet, so I can’t say how it will turn out. See pictures here: http://kitchenactivities.wordpress.com/2010/06/29/vertical-wall-gardens-pre-planting/

    • thecatskillkiwi
      Posted July 1, 2010 at 8:51 am | Permalink

      let me know how the burlap works! intriguing…

  5. Posted July 2, 2010 at 6:20 am | Permalink

    Looking very nice. Do you mind if I reblog?

    Lushe
    http://www.lushe.com.au

    • thecatskillkiwi
      Posted July 2, 2010 at 11:18 am | Permalink

      I do not mind at all! absolutely thrilled.

  6. Jill
    Posted July 2, 2010 at 6:12 pm | Permalink

    What a stunning piece of Art. I agree with Hailee’s idea, somehting thin with small holes across the back.


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

