tomatoes 2.0

Okay so we all remember last years massive tomato blight that pretty much wiped out all the tomato crops in the North East… since last year was my first time gardening I was particularly excited to pick and eat my own home grown tomatoes… well THAT didn’t happen so here we go again.

Thanks to my tomato guru Gabriel, who saves his own seeds, starts his seedlings inside and then hands a hefty selection over to me to grow, this is what’s heading for the ground this year…

San Marzano: (plum) great for making sauces

Ruby: very large red/yellow color

Vintage: or what we have dubbed #9, because Gabriel bought one tomato from a market last year and it cost 9 bucks, so he saved the seeds and we are going to grow our own #9’s (very large red)

Black Cherry: small dark cherry tomato

Black Prince: medium large purplish color

Peach: medium white/pink fuzzy cherry (blooms late)

Fireworks: medium size red globe  (blooms early)

Tumbling Tom: hanging basket grows downward (small cherry)

come on boys do me PROUD!!

5 Comments

  1. Jill
    Posted June 8, 2010 at 9:15 pm | Permalink

    Nice hanging wire baskets! do they have a special name? do they help the fruit hang better?

    • thecatskillkiwi
      Posted June 9, 2010 at 12:20 am | Permalink

      they are stuck in the ground, and will help the tomatoes to stand better when they get taller.

  2. Gabriel
    Posted June 9, 2010 at 3:49 am | Permalink

    Mulch! I can’t stress it enough. I see dry soil. Your walkways are lined with it. Throw it into your tomato rows.
    Having said that, I wish you a healthy growing season. I’ve got a good feeling for this year. Abundance. Enjoy your crop!

    • thecatskillkiwi
      Posted June 10, 2010 at 8:42 am | Permalink

      after i took this photo i mulched with freshly cut lawn grass, this is good right?

  3. Gabriel
    Posted June 10, 2010 at 3:44 pm | Permalink

    I would think that the grass clippings would be fine. I’ve always used pine bark (which is what it looks like you have lining your walkway). I used to use red plastic which promotes early ripening and a higher yield. It doesn’t look great though and it’s a little annoying to use because you have to secure it with garden pins.


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

