exhausted

Somebody was too excited to sleep last night when the prospect of waking up to the wonders of nature, after a two week hiatus, was about to be unveiled… so at 7.20 yesterday morning I couldn’t contain myself any longer and popped up to take a look outside and all I’d missed in the past few weeks… what a shocker, it was like a wild kingdom out there!

I have no idea what’s been going on weather wise in zip code 12474, whilst I’ve been down in 10009, but all I can tell you is the plant life is thriving.  We left here with everything weeded, seeded and lawns cut down to the quick and have returned to weeds galore, a lawn so long it’s gone to seed and a mangled jungle of plants gone bazerkas!! Good grief it’s only been TWO WEEKS, how has this happened?

I swear the peonies have grown at least a foot since I last saw them…

blazing a trail around the house…. to start.

the chives are going bananas! I have no idea what to do with all of them… anyone?

I’m not entirely sure what’s weeds and what’s greens to eat…

evidence of something to eat… but I only planted this 2 weeks ago so either the weather has been completely nuts and PERFECT growing conditions or my soil is simply bionic…

and this amazing flower shot up out of nowhere, I have no idea what it is, but it’s quite spectacular and a deep purple almost black color, I guess I must have put in a bulb somewhere, sometime ago, anyone know what this is??

9 Comments

  1. Mame Johnston
    Posted June 4, 2010 at 9:22 am | Permalink

    That flower is a bearded iris and as far as the chives go, you could dry them in one of those dehydrating machines and have them all winter. In spring, we used to have to cut the lawn at least twice a week due to so much rainy weather. All of those great yellow dandelions have now gone to seed undoubtedly! Can’t wait to see the photos of the peonies when they open. They are prolific, to say the least. Enjoy your two lovely chairs after the mowing is completed!

    • thecatskillkiwi
      Posted June 4, 2010 at 9:27 am | Permalink

      Hey Mame, thanks for the answers…. that flower is so pretty and I have no idea where it came from, I must have planted a bulb and forgotten about it. I cannot wait for the peonies they are truly my favorite flower and I am lucky I inherited 5 huge bushes of them when we bought the house!

  2. Posted June 4, 2010 at 9:43 am | Permalink

    That’s an iris! I have dozens, I think they were nicknamed black bearded iris at the nursery. And Mame’s suggestion about drying the chives is great, you could also make some chive pesto and some herb butter.

  3. Janet Hale
    Posted June 4, 2010 at 8:36 pm | Permalink

    Well it looks like you already got your answer to the mystery flower but I will make it three of the same….Bearded Iris and you my dear are very lucky to have one. I love me some fresh chives in my cheesy scrambled eggs served with fried potatoes with rosemary and basil added to them.

  4. Posted June 4, 2010 at 11:31 pm | Permalink

    wow

  5. Posted June 5, 2010 at 5:54 pm | Permalink

    Hmmm, chives and cheesy eggs with potatoes… YUM!

  6. rosie
    Posted June 7, 2010 at 9:37 am | Permalink

    with the weeds in beds I can never tell either but the happiest biggest healthiest tends to be the weed in my experience but otherwise just let them fight it out till you can recognize them. Potato Chives and mayo and cream salad or with frankfurters for the non veggies.x

    • thecatskillkiwi
      Posted June 9, 2010 at 12:22 am | Permalink

      cool great advice!

  7. Posted June 13, 2010 at 10:44 pm | Permalink

    Chives must love the catskills b/c mine go crazy, too. In addition to using as liberally as I use ground black pepper, I like to cut chives and put in small bottles as cut flowers.
    Being a NYC / Catskiller, myself, I love when a new post shows up in my feed.


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

