discovering…

After a two week city stint we legged it up to the wee house toot suite!  Last time here, there was still over a foot of snow,  so I was curious to see what would be left…. wow, just a few patches in the shaded areas.  The lawn has re-emerged, the compost is uncovered, the vege garden revealed and the trailer, well it appears to have weathered its first Catskill winter, from its former cushy residence of Florida.  Sorry airstream!

The Catskill Kiwi is the kinda gal that at the first hint of spring goes absolutely banana’s cleaning every surface, nook and cranny within an inch of its life…. misleading one to believe that winter brings decreptitude, disrepair and disgusting living quarters,  not so fast folks, I am just one of the obsessive compulsive NEAT FREAKS.  Mr Weiss has quickly learned to duck and run when the vacuum, mop, wax, dusters and various other cleaning implements come hurtling out of the cupboard.  Smart move Mr Weiss, smart move, he knows I’m happy as Larry wonder woman-ing around the house at light speed…. yes I couldn’t be happier but thank god the house is SMALL.  Out goes the winter gear into storage, in comes the summer stuff, did I mention the house is SMALL?

I kicked off by washing the entire windows, inside and out, I actually did get help on this, Mr Weiss perched atop a ladder cleaning concoction in hand.  Speaking of which no need EVER to buy glass cleaner, 2 cup water, 1/4 c white vinegar, juice half lemon and a good wad of newspaper really and truly does the trick, don’t forget the lemon juice though or you house will smell like a chip shop!

Not to miss out on the glorious weather outside I raced around the house, clearing all the leaf debris from the flower gardens, trimming plants, bushes, shrubs and trees, evoking my best Edward Scissorhands impersonation and lo and behold the first signs of greenery appearing. SHAME!!  I cannot wait to get my mitts into the garden and start planting seeds, I know it’s a bit early yet… but oh but oh but,  okay no I won’t.  Had my first outdoor shower of the season, yanked out the patio furniture and lugged the grill up onto the deck.  Yes first grilling….

its a little light on ingredients, had to dig around in the freezer to find something to throw on and yes the health kick has flown right out of my very clean window.

The vertical garden did not survive the winter at all, oh sigh, back to the drawing board…. THIS is what it looked like when just finished.

Fuel for maniacal behavior….

shrimp cocktail, Trader Joes pre-cooked, peeled and deveined large shrimp, I did make the cocktail sauce, 6 tbsp ketchup, 3 tbsp horseradish, 3 tbsp lemon juice, 1/2 tsp celery salt and splash tabasco sauce.

steaming sauteed kale with garlic and a snap pea, red onion, cucumber, smoked trout and parmesan salad… fairly healthy eating… until…

buttermilk spice cake, recipe tomorrow because you’ve probably all fallen asleep by now!

5 Comments

  1. Lee
    Posted April 5, 2010 at 5:12 pm | Permalink

    Hey, could you come around to my house with some of that spring-cleaning frenzy…I dont care that its autumn, the house could sure use it but we still have NO WATER, after nearly five months of drought so clenaing is at a minimum! Gonna try your window cleaning recipe if I can get Kane on to it (delegation…)xxx

    • thecatskillkiwi
      Posted April 5, 2010 at 9:43 pm | Permalink

      trust me, the window’s will be SQUEAKY clean!

  2. Jill
    Posted April 5, 2010 at 11:39 pm | Permalink

    What! no shrimps on the barbie!

  3. Posted April 6, 2010 at 10:38 am | Permalink

    OMG, I’m exhausted just reading this! I like to clean, but . . .

  4. Posted April 26, 2010 at 1:50 pm | Permalink

    It takes a special hand to make great food and that food looks great.


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

