diners

I’m obsessed with Diners.  I can’t help not be, they are just so far from anything you will ever find in N.Z.   I try steer us into one at every opportunity I get, fortunately now that we are constantly on Rte 4 and Rte 17 there’s plenty of pit stopping to and fro upstate.

By far my favorite is The Coach House Diner, it’s the creme de la creme of diner experience, mainly because of the existence of its famous salad bar.  Oh the salad bar with its 80’s inspired salads.  There are always mounds of shredded carrot & raisin salad, Waldorf salad, egg salad, mixed bean salad, white bean salad, coleslaw, beetroot, chickpeas, slabs of feta, grape leaves… I mean I could be here all day naming the array they have on display, GOD BLESS YOU COACH HOUSE!

And have I mentioned value??? Well yes siree bob VALUE to the max…. my meat fest extravaganza consisted of flank steak which comes with two sides.  I picked baked potato with gravy and steamed broccoli (which should be noted never arrived and I wouldn’t of eaten it anyway, it was purely just for show) AND it also comes with the aforementioned salad bar,  total $15.50.  In Mr Weiss’s corner he ordered veggie lasagna (a whopping portion smothered in cheese, which almost gave him a coronary just looking at it) and his dinner too came with salad bar, total $10.95.  Now that’s bang for your buck.

Coach House Diner we will see you again!

2 Comments

  1. Jill
    Posted February 4, 2010 at 9:22 pm | Permalink

    What is the appeal? is it the 50’s booths..aka as on Happy Days..LOL, or just real cheesy historical american eating? have you analysed? as I know you love doing…

  2. thecatskillkiwi
    Posted February 5, 2010 at 6:10 pm | Permalink

    It’s a classic american diner, booths, weird massive book like menu, nothing exists like this in NZ.


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

