I’m baaaaacck!

Howdi.  Did you miss me? Oh go on, admit it, you did, didn’t you, even just a tiny bit??  Anyway I’m stateside after a truly spectacular trip extravaganza, which to refresh you alls memory started with a 7 day cruise from Red Hook, Brooklyn, on board the Queen Mary 2 to Southampton, UK.  The QM2 was fabulous, it’s like old school traveling filled with cocktail parties, fancy black tie 5 course dinners, dancing, elaborate show revues, lectures, a library, art auctions, games room, lounges  and yes even hot tubbing it mid Atlantic in January,  thanks to a cruising course just below my friend the Gulf Stream. It was a really fun way to get from one continent to the other and for a $100 bucks a day, all food included,  a super bargain!  I totally recommended it.

Then it was a quick skeedaddle straight from the dock in Southampton to Heathrow airport where we took a short flight to Reykevik, Iceland for 5 magical, weird, eye popping, crazy mars-like days.  The limited daylight at this time of year took a little getting used to with the daylight hours starting at around 11.00am – 3.30pm, so it’s 9.00am and your struggling to get out of bed and have breakfast when its pitch black outside.  It’s hard to explain but the sun only barely rises so it seems like its perpetually twilight for this time period.  Once I’ve waded through my 927 photos taken (oh my!) I will post some pictures that will included everything from our black tie evenings to our Icelandic Horse riding trek through lava fields, where I dubbed Mr Weiss, the “Jewish John Wayne”.

Hope you all had a great start to your new year…. I know I did!!

2 Comments

  1. Posted January 18, 2010 at 9:55 am | Permalink

    Oooh I can’t wait to see your photos, Iceland is somewhere I’ve always wanted to visit. The cruise sounds rather marvellous too!

    • thecatskillkiwi
      Posted January 18, 2010 at 3:19 pm | Permalink

      Iceland was truly magical… i highly recommend it, IcelandAir is running some super cheap deals right now. I hope to go back in the summertime one day.


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

