’twas the Christmas that was…

I love Christmas, I truly do.  And now its over, I’m lucky enough to stretch it out for another week, as I never work between Christmas and New Years.  So where was I when we last left off? oh right Mr Weiss and I looking for a Christmas tree.

We’re in the middle of the Catskill mountains surrounded by hundreds of thousands of hectares of forest and not a pine in sight for sale.   We spent 2 hours randomly driving around Christmas Eve in search of the elusive tree only to give up and settle for “the Christmas Branch”.  A gnarly old limb from a white birch tree that had fallen by the wayside we dragged back to the wee house, chopped it off to fit inside and strung some lights on it.  Ta dah Christmas is saved!

Mr Weiss going at it with a tiny hand saw!

We did think about chopping down our own pine but after scrutinizing the smaller Charlie Brown trees we have neither Mr Weiss or myself had the heart to rip one out.  So the festive branch it was.

the felted fairy made by Bonnie and the fairy lights.

I spent most of the past 48 hours with our guests, hunched obsessively over this…

doing a puzzle is my Christmas tradition and the best $4.99 spent at Kmart.

My Christmas menu was…

Soy Cured Salmon (which I cannot get enough of!)

Wasabi Pickled Cucumbers

Spicy Glazed Eggplant

Sauteed Broccoli Rabe

Black Cod with Mushrooms and Sansho Pepper

followed by this, which was delicious and I still have a sliver left that’s got my name on it!

Recipes, once organized will be coming!

5 Comments

  1. Janet Hale
    Posted December 28, 2009 at 7:19 pm | Permalink

    Your Holiday sounded wonderful and I loved your Christmas Branch:)

  2. Mame Johnston
    Posted December 28, 2009 at 8:30 pm | Permalink

    What? No Pav? I’m sad for you! (Just kiddin’)

    • thecatskillkiwi
      Posted December 28, 2009 at 11:17 pm | Permalink

      i know i usually make one every year (at least), but i went rogue this year! haha

  3. Posted December 29, 2009 at 10:31 am | Permalink

    Love the Christmas branch! And your time spent on the puzzle reminds me of Christmases with my grandparents.

  4. Jill
    Posted December 30, 2009 at 12:22 am | Permalink

    Snap! we always do a puzzle when we hit the beach house. We manage to do ours at a leisurely pace, as well there is swimming to fit in! Thanks for the Lemon Tart recipe! My favourite!! I will send you a pic of my $30 home made xmas tree… made from fabric cores and tinsel!


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

