vintage cookbooks

My friend Teresa is at it again, she gave me one of my favorite books of all time, Kitchen Angst, a hilarious culinary gem.  This time Teresa showed up with a zip lock bag full of ancient “cookery” delights found at a yard sale for a whopping 25 cents.  Which is great because with the horror show that ensues you wouldn’t have wanted to shell out much more than that! Trust me.

um I’m not so sure about that bold statement judging by the cover of this thing

I’m pitting these two against each other….

now who could forget to want to make these classics, “chop suey”, “chow mein” and “mandarin salad”

shouldn’t we keep this as our beverage to wash all the other goodies down with?

and last but certainly by no means least, these two… come on now you’re just waiting for me to whip up this “tomato aspic” ring mold… but wait what’s that? oh yeah some nasty cold shrimp floating decoratively around the edges.

Awesome!

6 Comments

  1. Jason
    Posted December 22, 2009 at 5:35 pm | Permalink

    I don’t know what you’re talking about. I always have cold, ugly, shrimp with my tomato jello!

    Merry Christmas Kiwi, and give that little hebrew a hug from me. xoxo Jason.

    • thecatskillkiwi
      Posted December 22, 2009 at 10:55 pm | Permalink

      The heeb says Hi!
      Merry Xmas, see you on the slopes….

  2. Stephanie
    Posted December 22, 2009 at 9:54 pm | Permalink

    Pleae, oh PLEASE make the shrimp in jello and report on it for us! My grandmother made a two-tone Thanksgiving jello mold every year, I will have to send along photos!

    • thecatskillkiwi
      Posted December 22, 2009 at 10:55 pm | Permalink

      yes please photo’s would be awesome

  3. michael sanzone
    Posted December 23, 2009 at 8:21 am | Permalink

    Grotesque!

  4. Posted January 14, 2010 at 8:33 am | Permalink

    love old cookbooks like these. makes one wonder what our cooking would have been like if they were all we had to cook from.


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

