an action packed weekend…

Yip there was no lallygagging going on this weekend up at the wee house.  After riding the wave of work that has come my way, we managed to sneak up here for a couple of days before the work onslaught continues and the slide towards the Christmas countdown hits me right in the face.  It was all go… go… go…

Firstly being my anally organized self coupled with the fact that I hate waste… I set about juicing and freezing fresh Meyer lemons and limes that I had an abundance of left over from a job.

So when I get enough time to whip up one of these I will… Meyer lemon juice is just that little bit extra special.  Inspired by my lemon organizing I climbed into the fridge and rummaged around looking for things that weren’t going to last too much longer unless I cut them off at the pass.

Next up I made this…

I found a box of mushrooms that were just pleading to be used.  Mushroom Soup (recipe coming later).

Then this…

Roasted Garlic and Cauliflower Soup…  cauli rescued, mission accomplished… recipe coming later.

Wait no sweets? Hell yes.

Olive Oil, Lime & Yogurt Loafs… yum yum and double yum… recipe coming later…

This arrived in the mail…

which I spent ages scrutinizing, sorting, checking what seeds I had ordered last year and what I will do differently next year.  Mr Weiss declared my first attempt at gardening to be a roaring success and other than the dreaded tomato blight we stuffed ourselves from the garden with kale, peas, cucumbers, radishes, beets, broccoli, yellow squash, rainbow chard and a multitude variety of lettuces.  It was absolutely rewarding and totally awesome.  I cannot wait to get seeds and start plotting and planning my next round of veggie gardening.

The Catskills was on the receiving end of quite a nice dumping of snow… so it will definitely be a white Christmas this year.  When the wind settled down we trudged outside to string twinkly lights on our pine trees.

Mr Weiss getting all busy and manly organizing lights…

lets hope this doesn’t happen!!

end result… pretty huh.

There was some screaming and flapping by me…”big birds, big birds” when we were carefully negotiating the road down from the wee house and saw these…

I think this might be the same bunch that hangs around on our lawn from time to time… and then this guy who has abandoned this

nest, spent most of spring terrorizing me when I made a beeline for the outdoor shower, generally flying what seemed to be, directly into my head every time!  Thanks bird.

Part 2 of my action packed weekend continues with some pretty disturbing photos tomorrow… yip, disturbing!

5 Comments

  1. Posted December 14, 2009 at 8:59 am | Permalink

    love your lights on the trees…what a view! still haven’t had a snow in brooklyn yet but I’m sure it’s coming!

  2. Posted December 14, 2009 at 5:37 pm | Permalink

    Beautiful! We have a live Pohutakawa Xmas tree this year – which will be planted out in winter (will send a pic)- do you think I could make that lemon tart with lime juice? We had so many from our tree (at least 100!) I froze about 30 whole. Please post the cauli-garlic soup ASAP, sounds great…

    • thecatskillkiwi
      Posted December 14, 2009 at 5:45 pm | Permalink

      wow pohutakawa xmas tree, awesome, although i did enjoy your banana palm last year with tinsel on. Yes don’t see why you can’t make it a lime tart and the cauli soup i think will be up on wednesday.

  3. Posted December 15, 2009 at 11:20 am | Permalink

    You were busy! I need to get cooking too…and maybe acknowledge the holidays with a tiny potted tree and a hot toddy or two!

  4. Jill
    Posted December 15, 2009 at 9:47 pm | Permalink

    Wow! I love the outdoor Xmas Trees! what a pretty sight…an no cleaning up from dropped pine needles!


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

