to freeze or not to freeze

Say hello to my little friend…(and if you could read this in Al Pacino’s Scarface voice it would be even better)

freezer5

not sure what you’re looking at? well it’s the white box, under the snowboard bags.  My 3.5 cubic foot friend of freezing goodness, that Mr Weiss and I picked up from the good ole Home Depot and shoved out in the baby barn.  This my friends is what I’ve had me knickers in a twist over, my intention is to stuff this thing to the gills, should Armageddon be knockin on me doorstep I’ll have a nice hot bowl of soup in me hands before I go down!

So when Mr Weiss insisted we get this…

freezer2

the bushel of broccoli from this past weekend, he also was in charge of floret-ing (?) it into manageable pieces and let the blanching begin! We read online it was better to freeze, quickly blanched broccoli, than raw.  So be it, I said, and gave myself a facial at the same time…this turned into…

freezer 1

bags and bags of blanched broccoli and 4 quarts of cream of broccoli soup… recipe might show up sometime later… we kept some fresh to eat and this week as I will make this again.  Which by the way if you haven’t made yet and you like both broccoli and shrimp, what are you waiting for? It’s delicious.

I also had a batch of this waiting in the wings…

freezer

and this, made this past weekend… how I didn’t blow out the motor in my immersion blender I’ve no idea.

pumpkin soup

and lastly I whipped up a sexy, hot, veggie Thai green curry that’ll knock ya socks off… (recipe later) to contribute to this…

freezer3

the goal is to have this sucker GROANING with goodies… of course front and center is the Trader Joe’s Pizza dough and behind it in the ziplock bag’s my famous Blueberry Pierogies. I can’t wait to start rummaging around in this thing.

5 Comments

  1. Posted October 22, 2009 at 10:30 am | Permalink

    Should Armageddon come knocking on your door you’re going to have to can that stuff as soon as the power goes out. 😀 I’m loving the reused containers. Is the label adhesive staying tight even at those temperatures?

    • thecatskillkiwi
      Posted October 22, 2009 at 8:29 pm | Permalink

      mostly the labels stay on.. mostly!

  2. Mame Johnston
    Posted October 22, 2009 at 5:12 pm | Permalink

    I didn’t see any Trader Joe’s Dorot garlic or basil cubes in there. What’s the deal?

    Mame

    • thecatskillkiwi
      Posted October 22, 2009 at 8:30 pm | Permalink

      oh my special stash of Dorot’s garlic, cilantro and basil stays close to my heart… inside the in fridge freezer! hee hee

  3. Jesika
    Posted October 23, 2009 at 3:48 am | Permalink

    Can I spend Armageddon at your place?


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

