a month away…

Good grief how has it been that we have been ensconced in the city for the past month? How did we let this happen? the battle cry of work I guess.

Observations…. year 1…

fall

The mountain speckled with color, making the pine trees seem greener than green.

fall1

my favorite view…

I discovered that if you leave your garden unattended it WILL just continue to grow and the winner for the best $1.29 spent is KALE!

fall4

STILL GOING STRONG!  Good grief this stuff just does not quit, it’s the energizer bunny of food.

fall6

Torpedo towers of lettuces…

fall7

a tangled web of squash gone wild

fall8

marigold mayhem

fall3

Radish’s left unattended will just get bigger and bigger and BIGGER…. there are some real whoppers in this sink full.

fall2

Stay tuned for a multitude of radish inspired recipes to follow… HA, if you think I’m joking, think again people.

I also discovered after a month in the city I have gone completely girlie soft and the numerous shrieks throughout the day kept Mr Weiss on his toes, he was either confronted with the “I’m okay” call after being startled by a worm, or some such insignificant thing which startled me,  or clinging to my trusty stick for dear life and trying to catapult myself over the garden wall from  something small, fury and running (my arch ENEMY), and NO I haven’t gotten used to yet.

With the house and land quiet for the past month, void of human presence, the creatures have come to rule the asylum.  But I have news for them all NOT ON MY WATCH! Consider yourselves duly warned.  I am armed and dangerous, okay maybe not armed (unless you count my stick) but I should be considered dangerous. That especially means you scary unidentified scratching thing, in the attic above my head, causing me a night of distress and clutching desperately onto Mr Weiss.

AND… wait for it, wait for it…. we  woke up to SNOW this morning…

snow

I’ll be sharpening and waxing off the board in no time! Hee hee

4 Comments

  1. Posted October 16, 2009 at 1:43 pm | Permalink

    Lovely garden. I keep wanting to try a recipe for Kale Chips, which your picture has reminded me to do.

  2. Gabriel
    Posted October 16, 2009 at 10:30 pm | Permalink

    How much snow are we talking about? Not being there it makes me nervous when the leaves are still on the trees and it snows.

    • thecatskillkiwi
      Posted October 17, 2009 at 10:56 am | Permalink

      we probably got between 1 and 2 inches… its all melted now though.

  3. Bonnie
    Posted October 17, 2009 at 3:20 am | Permalink

    WOW…. Wow, to your garden!! Wow to the color of the trees!! WOW to the 1 year!! AND WOW to the Snow!!!!!!!! So beautiful with the color of the leaves coming through.


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

