tenement

Yes people I live in a dump.  Whilst my country estate is, I think rather gorg, my city dwelling is a friggin nightmare.  I’ve lived here for so long I’m practically part of the wallpaper, if I had wallpaper.  I can also say with confidence that I have contributed to at least 15 of the 20 layers of paint, which has given me an extra couple of inches in wall cushioning,  but unfortunately it hasn’t helped much as this apartment is noisy as shit.

It’s on the corner of an avenue, directly across from a supermarket, with this now infamous vision randomly parked beneath my windows.  There is also the constant sound of crushing glass from the bottle exchange, the piercing sirens of fire engines from the station around the corner and the near nightly screaming fights that ALWAYS seem to erupt right outside my bedroom window.  It’s a trifecta of noise assault.

And it certainly does not help none of the windows actually shut and that when the “super” stops by to fix anything he’s usually just armed with DUCT tape.  One time when I noticed an even fiercer wind blowing through the “closed” window,  I found the super had used one of my jumbo length cinnamon sticks to keep the window propped closed, until it finally snapped, hence the draft.

And lest we forget the YEAR of construction that happened directly underneath us, when the entire 1st floor was demolished to be reconfigured from one humongous apartment into 2 tiny ones… for 10 x’s the price.  Yip it’s a real cowboy operation run over here,  I mean, come on how many of you have opened your door to find this note stuck on the outside…

note

translation: THEY REMOVED THE ENTIRE STAIRCASE.. do you understand?  when I opened my door to go out, there was a GAPING HOLE where the stairway was… and NO WAY to leave… and it doesn’t stop there people, oh no my super is very fond of the notes and/or just going ahead and doing things,  like changing the downstairs door lock, usually during the day when everyone is out at work, and then sliding a note under each apartment door with the new key attached to it… NOT THINKING how anyone would be able to get inside the building to retrieve their new key????? Genius I know.

But my all time favorite was when I came home one afternoon to find a “bouncer” on guard at our door to the building, who was stopping anyone from entering the building until the new concrete, they had just poured was set,  say WHAT?

He did however give me a hand to scramble up the fire escape so I could get in through the window rather than waiting for another “couple of hours” until the concrete was set. HUH??

Now I’m waiting for this fiasco to unfold…

note1

FINALLY at least some advance warning, but this is ONLY after I complained about the last note left… advising us the day before that “window man come measure window tomorrow at 12pm” does he not think anyone in this building WORKS??? oh sigh.

If anyone knows of a semi decent apartment available I might just about settle for anything other than this!

10 Comments

  1. Posted September 28, 2009 at 10:36 am | Permalink

    Yow! Crazy. I thought our building was bad when the doorman lost a package of ours. But not having steps when you walk out? THAT’s pretty intense.

  2. Posted September 28, 2009 at 11:28 am | Permalink

    ugh there’s nothing worse than incompetent supers and landlords, yet nyc is teeming with them (my apt included). good luck finding a new place.

  3. Rowland
    Posted September 28, 2009 at 9:28 pm | Permalink

    … so why do you live there again? You need to fence out those dear and start a grass fed beef and lamb operation and get out of that ant’s nest people call the city.

  4. Cynthia
    Posted September 29, 2009 at 5:11 am | Permalink

    thank godness I ghave my 1/4 acre pvlova paradise here in Godzone!

  5. Posted September 29, 2009 at 12:40 pm | Permalink

    …doesn’t sound so bad really (ahem), maybe I can take it off your hands when you find an absolute dreamy new place…but, alas, I’m sure the super will immediately redo the entire apartment as soon as you leave and perhaps the new tenants may actually be happy there…

    • thecatskillkiwi
      Posted September 29, 2009 at 10:23 pm | Permalink

      well you are a welcome guest anytime

  6. Posted September 30, 2009 at 5:36 pm | Permalink

    wicked those photos are sooooo cool i love your taste in art and your embryo clocks or what ever they are .. are F’hat

  7. Gabriel
    Posted October 1, 2009 at 12:32 am | Permalink

    You’re apartment. looks amazing! (Glad to be back on C-kill kiwi, BTW). I laughed my ass off reading this. Such perfect blog (old school diary-type) material that could eventually lead to a really funny anecdotal novel. Much more clever and real than “Prospect Park West” (gross best seller and complete piece of crap) otherwise known as “The Witches of Prospect Park”.

  8. Gabriel
    Posted October 1, 2009 at 12:38 am | Permalink

    Whoah! Got off on a tangent there. Anyway….what I meant to say was at least you have your beautiful country home to escape to when it all becomes unbearable. And what you’ve created in that crazy,noisy corner of Avenue C is truly amazing.

  9. Jill
    Posted October 1, 2009 at 4:47 pm | Permalink

    hear, hear, I totally agree with Gabriel


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

