vertical garden

I’ve been obsessed with this ever since I saw it on design sponge, back in April, and plotting and scheming ever since, okay not really, I just haven’t had enough time to figure out how I can make one myself, that is, until now.

Welcome to my prototype vertical garden, it started when I picked up this old barn wood frame at a local thrift shop…

garden10

I would have preferred not to have two sides painted white, but whatever people I’m on a mission.

Next I attached some garden stakes to make an interior frame, like so…

garden9

then I attached chicken wire to this… ideally I would have liked to use big ass staples but I didn’t have a staple gun or big ass staples so I used thumb tacks… so we’ll see how this works out!

garden8

then I nailed another wooden frame on top of the wire and first frame structure…. sandwiching the chicken wire between the wooden stakes…like this

garden7

and I did mention all this was being built on the back side of the frame right? No, well it is…

garden6

then I soaked this big bag o moss in water for about 20 mins…

garden5

next I laid the framework down flat, facing right side up and placed the moss over the chicken wire framing, the idea being, (in theory at least), that the chicken wire will hold in the moss and soil of the plants and hopefully the roots will be able to grow through,  so when it tips back vertically…. the plants will stay in place, it’s a theory people, work with me!

DSC_0230

the unsuspecting victims… a collection of succulents and low growing mosses… hopefully stuff that doesn’t need a lot of soil to grow in… hee hee

garden4

carefully placing the plants with some soil into the moss covering, GENTLY pulling roots through the chicken wire hidden behind the moss…

garden3

garden1

arranging and filling in the gaps… this required a couple of trips back to my local garden store

garden

Finished… propped up on wooden blocks to leave room behind the frame work so the tender roots aren’t getting smashed into the ground.  Now the idea is to leave it horizontal this way for a week or so until the roots take and monitor if I’ve killed any…. doo do doo do dooo do dooo, that’s me waiting.

Looks good right? well it did, until we came back upstate after a 4 day stint back in the city, where in my mind it seemed we had been gone at least a week or more, I was so excited and anxious to A. see if the plants had survived and B. to tip it upright, which I did with Mr Weiss as my audience, who in slow motion started to say “Nooooooooooooo”, when I tipped it upright unfortunately past the 90 degree angle thinking it was all good and rooted and one by bloody one plop.plop.plop goes the plants falling face down into the grass…. oh WHOOPS!  I guess it needed more time.

After the air was filled with expletives, I quietly “re-attached” what had fallen out and am now PATIENTLY waiting for root-age before I attempt that little exercise again,  ho hum.

wall

another week later, and so far all is good, I gingerly lifted it onto this bench leaning against the wall of the house…. no disaster so far…now all I need to do is devise a way to hang it… stay tuned for that one, it might take me awhile.

12 Comments

  1. gloriakp
    Posted September 4, 2009 at 5:25 pm | Permalink

    That’s so pretty! When our daughter lived in San Diego she had access to a nursery that made hanging wreaths and table centerpieces out of the same kind of succulents. They lasted for years until they got too big and out of proportion, but they were beautiful while they lasted.

  2. Posted September 4, 2009 at 6:26 pm | Permalink

    that is wicked…looks fantastic but so how do you water it? A spray bottle?

    • thecatskillkiwi
      Posted September 4, 2009 at 6:34 pm | Permalink

      yip, and they are all plants that don’t need a lot of water.. although having said that i’m not sure how long it will last!

  3. Posted September 4, 2009 at 10:59 pm | Permalink

    What a clever idea. I like it.

  4. Jill
    Posted September 5, 2009 at 7:32 pm | Permalink

    That is so friggin cool! A framed piece of living art! I love it

  5. Posted September 5, 2009 at 8:39 pm | Permalink

    I loved!

  6. John Scott
    Posted September 8, 2009 at 3:31 pm | Permalink

    Here’s a idea for mounting this beauty: build a frame (as you did with the garden stakes) that fits snugly around the chicken-wire-holding frame (or perhaps that fits on the inside of the chicken-wire-holding frame which would be less mechanically desirable but perhaps better stylistically) so you end up with a square within a square. Then drill holes all the way through both frames on each side; maybe 2 per side. Next, attach the new “anchor frame” to the wall. Finally, slide the garden into the anchor frame and secure it with dowels of sort through the previously drilled holes. A overly complex solution I admit but more fun to describe than other ideas.

    • thecatskillkiwi
      Posted September 8, 2009 at 3:49 pm | Permalink

      hey that’s a great idea, i think i understand will have to run it by mr weiss to help me!

  7. Meg
    Posted September 11, 2009 at 4:40 pm | Permalink

    My husband and I made a frame just like it to hang (by tiny wooden pins) all of the seating cards for our wedding. I still have it and now I know what to do with it! Thanks.

  8. Posted September 12, 2009 at 4:19 pm | Permalink

    hey great – check out the veritcal gardens on http://www.gardenbeet.com for another technique …..bit more expensive but looks great

  9. Carly
    Posted March 16, 2010 at 6:19 am | Permalink

    Hi, I would like to do this for an art project but I am not familiar with which succulents you used, but the arrangement is amazing! Could you help me out? Thanks!

    • thecatskillkiwi
      Posted March 16, 2010 at 8:40 am | Permalink

      i used mosses, “hen and chicks” which are really common succulents, i think basically ANY kind of “succulent” that you can find, will work with this type of garden, they just need to grow and spread horizontally rather than out vertically, and most succulents don’t grow too big either.


4 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. […] Sep 05 2009 Vertical Garden with chicken wire By admin A great vertical garden DIY from The Catskill Kiwi . […]

  2. […] vertical garden did not survive the winter at all, oh sigh, back to the drawing board…. THIS is what it looked like when just […]

  3. […] of the diy versions I’ve seen use chicken wire with moss or felt for the roots to dig into, but I chose burlap. It’s a) denser than chicken wire, […]

  4. […] followed the routine and lay down a nice bed of sorghum moss, then light soil then the plants… it’s a bit […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

