the good news… followed by the bad

No no, I’m not bleating on about me job again, but I have been rummaging around in the garden… look what I found!

The good news….

g6

first beet harvest

chard

rainbow chard

g3

crookneck yellow squash getting it’s groove on

g5

this folks is what a cucumber looks like, well it does if you bought “Poona Kheera” cucumber seeds!

g1

a bounty of lettuces and NO I couldn’t wait for the cukes to get bigger, me want now.

g2

I planted this wee rose bush, thought I’d killed it, it soldiered on and now produced these pretties.

g

Mom, Dad and, as yet, an undetermined number of kids have taken up residence here.

g10

another family claimed some territory.

busy mama

this mum’s got her hands full.

and the bad news….

oh dear I think the blight might have found me!

g7

g9

Not sure, still waiting for my resident tomato expert, ummm hello waiting here, to give me the word.

Serves me right for thinking that whilst everyone else was going to be paying for through the nose for this summer’s much sought after tomatoes, if you can even find any, that I would be quietly stuffing my face unscathed… shame on me!

8 Comments

  1. Posted August 11, 2009 at 2:47 pm | Permalink

    Oh, I hope it’s not late blight! You know you CAN use fungicides, if you’re willing to go the non-organic chemical route.:-(
    It’s tragic – there’s nary a local tomato to be found in the northeast! Still, your other veggies look mighty fine. There’s got to be some solace in those beets and fancy cukes!

  2. coconutandquinoa
    Posted August 11, 2009 at 6:48 pm | Permalink

    No don’t use fungicides! Did you read about Hepworth farm? They’ve been spraying with (organic) clay that stops the spore getting to the tomato, it’s been expensive since every time it rains they have to re-apply. But I guess some of it worked as we are serving their cherry tomatoes at AK today. The article was in the times food section, I think the 29th?
    Maybe it’s too late now, but check it out just in case.

  3. Mame Johnston
    Posted August 11, 2009 at 6:48 pm | Permalink

    Your veggies look wonderful, as does your bee balm (monarda). It is so healthy looking and the hummingbirds are loving you for having it! What birds built a nest in your box? I guess I never realized that turkeys had so many young in one clutch. Happy ‘farming’!

  4. Gabriel
    Posted August 11, 2009 at 10:24 pm | Permalink

    Ohhh. The stem does look like blight. The leaf could be a number of things, but the black stem at the joint worries me. My Ruby turned black top to bottom in a few days. My favorite. Broke my heart to pull it. Keep an eye on the rest of lot. Pull them when you have to and bag them or bury them. Shame.

  5. Gabriel
    Posted August 11, 2009 at 10:25 pm | Permalink

    Oh yes. That is most certainly bee balm, and lots of it! Stunning.

  6. rosie
    Posted August 12, 2009 at 9:06 am | Permalink

    a local recipe from over here; stinging nettles in a bucket with a little water and let it get really really stinky (and it does) then put it on your tomatoes, they say it keeps blight and other pest and diseases away and pretty much anyone or thing else

  7. Posted August 12, 2009 at 11:59 am | Permalink

    i love love love that bee balm! wish i had a wildflower garden in my backyard.

  8. Posted August 14, 2009 at 9:10 pm | Permalink

    Where you live is so beautiful, congratulation!


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

