garden update

I know I know you’re absolutely white knuckling it and on the edge of ya seat, waiting patiently for me to start prattling on and on about my garden, again… well friends you’ve waited long enough (oh god I can hear the thunderous applause from here) just settle down now and try and contain yourselves long enough to read this nail biter.

bounty

Where to start?… well Mr Weiss and I have been stuffing ourselves senseless on kale, we’ve had kale burgers, sauteed kale with garlic, kale just salted and chucked on the grill, now that’s winding down we have beautiful rainbow colored swiss chard.  I’ve never really gravitated towards good ole chard but I was mesmerized by the colored seed packet promoting bright yellow and red stems… and I can tell ya right now they jolly well are too!

chard

carrots and radish’s racing for attention…

carrots1

Misto Rose radish’s just sliced with sea salt…

radish3

or in a sammie…

radish

after all the agonizing over the soil this spring and now the dreaded BLIGHT that’s everywhere, I am proud to announce 7 out of my 10 tomato plants have ACTUAL teeny weeny tomatoes on them… blight be damned!

tomatoes

I Mcguyver’d a trellis for the impending onslaught of cucumbers and zucchini…

trelis

we’ve already eaten through two entire rows on lettuce and I’m on me second planting

greens

sometimes I’m so happy I just wanna punch myself in the face!

8 Comments

  1. Posted July 29, 2009 at 1:50 pm | Permalink

    Those radishes are gorgeous!

  2. Posted July 29, 2009 at 3:03 pm | Permalink

    that is quite a productive garden!

  3. Annie Saha
    Posted July 29, 2009 at 5:15 pm | Permalink

    Wish I lived in the Catskills rather than in the high desert country I live in!
    Between the photos of all those blueberries and now all this beautiful chard, I can hardly hold my seat!

    Thanks for your lovely blog!

  4. Gabriel
    Posted July 29, 2009 at 8:05 pm | Permalink

    Oh my goodness! Everything looks so beautiful. The tomatoes are better than I expected!!

    • thecatskillkiwi
      Posted July 29, 2009 at 8:15 pm | Permalink

      yay I’m so pleased!

  5. Sarah
    Posted July 29, 2009 at 9:28 pm | Permalink

    Love the garden and you must be so proud! Gorgeous…

  6. Posted July 30, 2009 at 10:02 am | Permalink

    Congratulations! The garden looks great – and I adore those radishes. Well done!

  7. belleville
    Posted July 30, 2009 at 10:09 am | Permalink

    Beautiful! Those radish slices are like little works of art. PS- I love your blog!!


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

