oh no you didn’t…

oh yes I did!!!

argosy

that’s right say hello to my guest bedroom, office and traveling friend.  May I present to you my 1974 22 ft rear door Airstream Argosy.  Yip awesome right? No I haven’t completely lost the plot, I think I’m rather genius,  if you really want to know the truth.

The “wee house” with it’s one bedroom 700 sq ft of fabulous-ness, is perfect for two, but when friends come a callin… out comes the blow up bed, and we are practically stepping on heads to get by, hardly a chic moment now is it.

We looked into expanding into the,.. ahem “attic space”, which would have cost me both me arms and legs and probably a limb or two off Mr Weiss and I’m afraid I don’t like my friends that much (settle down I’m just kidding).  So when Mr Weiss and I were kicking around the idea of how cool it would be to go cruising around the countryside when we are much older and crunchier… the words Airstream came to mind.  So I thought I’d take a gander,  no harm in looking right?  Well that is unless you actually find one that’s awesome, a great deal… and if you like me… IMPATIENT as hell, why wait when I can put it to use NOW NOW NOW…. and wallah, the guest bedroom was born.

argosy1

I’m taking a bow right now! seriously I’m still bowing and I’m gonna totally decorate the shit outa this thing! hee hee hee.

18 Comments

  1. debbie harris-ballin
    Posted July 24, 2009 at 12:19 pm | Permalink

    Where did you find this treasure?? Fellow Hudson Valley gal dying of w.a.n.t o’re here.

    • thecatskillkiwi
      Posted July 24, 2009 at 12:24 pm | Permalink

      I looked around on ebay and then stumbled across a whole rabid community of airstream lovers that are willing to go to the ends of the earth to help you, totally wonderful experience, try checking out http://www.airforums.com

  2. Tracy
    Posted July 24, 2009 at 3:05 pm | Permalink

    Good Grief, I love it. We used to tool around in a caravan when I was a kid. Makes me wish we had a car!

  3. Posted July 24, 2009 at 3:08 pm | Permalink

    Wow, that looks to be in terrific shape! Garage queen! Nice find.

  4. Posted July 24, 2009 at 5:07 pm | Permalink

    you sure have a knack for finding fabulous things!
    That is so exciting!

  5. Posted July 24, 2009 at 5:21 pm | Permalink

    ‘Jealous’ is the only word that comes to mind

  6. Jill
    Posted July 24, 2009 at 5:31 pm | Permalink

    wow, she’s a real beauty! perfect for ambling about. I can see road trip recipes on the horizon.

    • thecatskillkiwi
      Posted July 24, 2009 at 7:38 pm | Permalink

      yip stay tuned for that one!

  7. Posted July 24, 2009 at 6:06 pm | Permalink

    Too funny! We also live in a wee cottage (with 2 kids as well) and bought a caravan/trailer for a guest bedroom – our guests love it!! Especially my mum – or maybe that has something to do with “her own space” and said 2 early riser kids!!! ours isn’t nearly as cool as your Airstream though.

  8. bonnie
    Posted July 24, 2009 at 6:42 pm | Permalink

    Dude, it rocks!!! where do I put my name down 🙂

  9. Posted July 24, 2009 at 7:12 pm | Permalink

    i’m not even kidding, i just spent a full hour drooling over the airstream trailers website. then i went to visit naomi at “the rockstar diaries” and found you…then this post. i am totally jealous. and, you have an adorable blog 😉

    • thecatskillkiwi
      Posted July 24, 2009 at 7:29 pm | Permalink

      hey welcome! must be fate you found me…. hee hee hee

  10. Posted July 24, 2009 at 10:18 pm | Permalink

    Fantastic- what does it look like inside?

    • thecatskillkiwi
      Posted July 24, 2009 at 10:21 pm | Permalink

      i just spent 2 days scrubbing the living daylights out of it, will post pictures of the inside soon.

  11. sandra (another kiwi
    Posted July 25, 2009 at 2:22 am | Permalink

    this is so hot! i want a caravan too!

  12. Posted July 25, 2009 at 8:24 pm | Permalink

    OMG I am officially jealous. green with envy.
    that is just AWESOME! i love airstreams!

  13. Jacquie
    Posted July 26, 2009 at 2:30 am | Permalink

    Loves it Toni – can’t wait for photos of the inside! Or maybe another trip to NY to try it out….

  14. Posted July 26, 2009 at 7:02 pm | Permalink

    This is great!!

    I’ve been reading your blog since sometime recently, I don’t know if I’ve commented before. Anyways, I really like it, and I’m therefore giving you the Lemonade Award! Please have a look at my blog for the rules 🙂

    Greetings,
    poet


One Trackback/Pingback

  1. […] Okay so I’ve had a bunch of you asking me for inside shots of my new project and now that I’ve cleaned, scrubbed and swiffered the living daylights out of our […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

