waha wera

I bet you don’t have this in your fridge….

waha wera

well unless you’re one of the few people that this gets foisted upon every time I return from N.Z bearing gifts of the motherland, along with vegemite and native honey. This stuff is sooooo good, but I always, and I mean always, use too much of it and it will literally blow your head off, a combination of habenero chili and kiwi fruit,  it’s killer on eggs.

So,  sorry to taunt you with this purely N.Z product that you will never get your hands on, unless you too are willing to strap in for the excruciatingly painful 15,000 mile flight… it may be worth it, but you ain’t gettin any of mine.

7 Comments

  1. Posted July 17, 2009 at 11:37 am | Permalink

    Aw, man. You’re such a tease!

  2. coconutandquinoa
    Posted July 17, 2009 at 1:18 pm | Permalink

    thanks to you I do!

  3. Mame Johnston
    Posted July 17, 2009 at 7:58 pm | Permalink

    Speaking of honey, have you ever used or heard of wound honey? I guess it’s produced in NZ and I’ve been reading about it’s wonderful healing properties in a catalog I receive. Is it raining there again today?

    • thecatskillkiwi
      Posted July 17, 2009 at 8:10 pm | Permalink

      actually i’ve never heard of wound honey, but it wouldn’t surprise me in the least that honey is used for its healing properties, and YES we arrived today and it’s been raining and looks like it hasn’t really let up much! ho hum

  4. Posted July 20, 2009 at 10:07 am | Permalink

    oh my boyfriend would love that since he loves both hot sauce and kiwis…too bad we can’t get it, you tease

  5. Jill
    Posted July 22, 2009 at 10:58 pm | Permalink

    The wound honey that Mame Johnston is refering to is Manuka Honey. They have developed rating system called “High Antibacterial Activity” (AAH) The Manuka Honey has up to 173% more active AAH than Clover Honey. Heres a website link http://www.airbourne.co.nz

    • Mame Johnston
      Posted July 23, 2009 at 9:11 am | Permalink

      Jill,
      Thanks for the info. I’ll be looking for it online.


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

