pushing the panic button

what kind of horrifying evil is lurking in the woods that would be responsible for this…

feeder

that’s right whilst enjoying my morning coffee and peering calmly out at the flower garden it suddenly dawned on me that the very sturdy wrought iron post that had the bird feeder attached to it was missing? missing?? what the…. so upon further inspection I found it like so…

feeder1

a gnarly mangled mess, chewed straight through, with gnashing teeth no doubt, I came racing back into the house to a sleeping Mr Weiss, and promptly announced “a bear, a bear!”, eyes as wide as saucers,  he calmly replied “real or otherwise” before getting up to investigate.

Great so now along with the other things that made me scream yesterday…

a bird (I swear it was going for my eyes)

a dead mouse (obviously horrifying AND I almost stood on it)

a frog (jumped into my face as I bent down to have a moment with nature and quietly pluck a flower)

a stinking squirrel (ran out at the car)

a marauding gang of deer

a big mother of a turkey casually strolling around like he owned the place

a worm (okay this might be a bit pathetic, but after the day I had I was a little on edge)

a hummingbird (I did put a feeder out to encourage this one), although every time it comes near I keep thinking some giant bee is about to get me.

This, my friends is enough excitement, in fact this is more than enough excitement for me to handle without now a bear being added to that potentially threatening, ever expanding list of wildlife that is closing in on me and I thought New York City was crawling with the unexpected!

9 Comments

  1. Posted June 30, 2009 at 1:44 pm | Permalink

    Looks like the work of a bear to me! I suggest no more bird seed until they are hibernating, and keep your trash cans indoors. They should learn quickly that there’s no more good eatin'(unless you’re a human)at your house!

  2. Posted June 30, 2009 at 3:57 pm | Permalink

    That’s a lot of wildlife for one day!

    • thecatskillkiwi
      Posted June 30, 2009 at 4:01 pm | Permalink

      Ah Yip!

  3. Mame Johnston
    Posted June 30, 2009 at 4:25 pm | Permalink

    That’s a bear, all right! We had one in town when we lived there. It took the pipe and bent it in half to get the last morsel of seed and suet out. Then it made its way to the deck of a friend that overlooks the village where he just sauntered around driving their dog bananas inside! They’re definitely around Roxbury and yes, it’s a good idea to not feed birds in the summer months. Soon the berries will be ripe in the woods and they’ll leave you alone. Take your garbage cans in under the deck for sure or in a garage for safekeeping. They’ll take anything they can find!!

  4. coconutandquinoa
    Posted June 30, 2009 at 6:02 pm | Permalink

    As I read i could picture it all, and laughed all the way through…..especially love your “moment with nature” disrupted by “nature”. But the bear is scary! I just had visions of Alfie running for his life!

  5. Posted June 30, 2009 at 8:29 pm | Permalink

    oh my goodness! So funny but not for you I understand. I can’t believe you had that much animal action in one day!

  6. Posted July 1, 2009 at 9:44 am | Permalink

    Believe it or not all the locals believe there are mountain lions. The government refuses to admit it but even my father has seen one walk across our fields. There is SO much wildlife up there it is amazing!
    I def think you have a bear! They are so cute but SO scary. I just love bears! But only far away, and in my paintings:)

  7. Posted July 9, 2010 at 5:20 pm | Permalink

    I have been visited by an unexpected woodpecker. I thought that was quite exciting until I read this.

    • thecatskillkiwi
      Posted July 9, 2010 at 9:11 pm | Permalink

      oh I love me a woodpecker, until they think the metal chimney is a tree, what a racket!


One Trackback/Pingback

  1. […] me back thinking I’ve just “rubbed tweety out”.  I got enough on me plate with nature […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

