lap lunch

Do not get between a New Zealand-er and their pie.

laplunch

We take our meat pies seriously, seriously we do.  New Zealand is the only country that introduced it’s one and only fast food chain restaurant, in direct competition with McDonalds, and it was devoted entirely to pies, named Georgie Pie. That’s right people all they served was pies.  Unfortunately this enterprise bit the dust somewhere around 1996, although there is a movement to resurrect our beloved Georgie Pie,  there is also no shame in admitting,  I wept the day Georgie Pie closed, WEPT!

But there’s a pie shop open in my ‘nabe, catering to the expats stumbling around muttering incoherently something about how they just can’t live without these savory snacks.  Tuck Shop, on 1st and 1st, has done a fairly decent job at recreating the perfect pie (even though they are Australian, I won’t hold it too much against them).

They’ve got all the usual suspects Traditional (ground beef), Chook (chicken), Lamb, Veggie and in my book some totally UN-legit ones… Thai Green Curry, Pedro’s Chili Pie (some Mexican concoction?).  Anyway I’m taking one for team here and eating my way through the menu, making sure it’s up to snuff, but feel free to dig on in to your pie of choice, should you find one nearby, in your neck of the woods.

There is however pie etiquette, which I should probably make sure you’re aware of,  saving you from making a major faux pas in front of the “pie puritans”.  Pies, under NO circumstances, are to be eaten with a knife and fork, this will result in cultural hissing, booing and possible ejection from said pie shop.  Hands only, preferably eaten straight from it’s baggie AND the ONLY acceptable condiment is tomato sauce (ketchup), again straying from this routine will result in ejection and/or a possible beating.

Consider yourselves warned!

10 Comments

  1. Posted June 5, 2009 at 4:08 pm | Permalink

    Interesting…I’ll have to check that joint out. How is the crust? It’s my favorite part of most pies. I wonder if they are like the pasties that are popular around northern Michigan? http://tinyurl.com/dmsgdq

  2. Posted June 5, 2009 at 5:45 pm | Permalink

    Lamb and kumara with just a touch of mint!! Yum. what about potato top?
    I make a mean mince pie for a family dinner (from the Edmonds Cook book)with a few added extras such as smoky paprika, and fresh thyme, serve with mashed potato or kumara and veg or green salad…kiwi heaven

  3. Mame Johnston
    Posted June 5, 2009 at 5:52 pm | Permalink

    Are these anything like the meat pies of Scotland? They had ground beef called, I believe, mince? They were absolutely wonderful and when we returned we had some shipped to Roxbury from somewhere in New Jersey. That was over 20 years ago and I’m not sure where we even found them. My father-in-law was born in Scotland and knew how to find them in the states. These look great!

    • thecatskillkiwi
      Posted June 5, 2009 at 7:08 pm | Permalink

      yes i think the same type of pies are in scotland, traditionally made with “mince” – ground beef.

  4. Posted June 5, 2009 at 6:57 pm | Permalink

    Lee can i come to dinner…yum. argh yes we love the humble pie but since i dont do animals anymore (that sounds a bit weird doesnt it)i have found that “Wild Bean” which is located inside BP service stations serve the most amazing vege pie. For awhile there me and the other half were addicted to going every sunday morning just to get our pie the pastry is incredible.

  5. Gabriel
    Posted June 5, 2009 at 11:02 pm | Permalink

    Funny, I just had lunch from Tuck Shop today. I was craving their Sausage Roll and stopped in and picked one up. Incredibly greasy but delicious!

  6. Posted June 5, 2009 at 11:17 pm | Permalink

    Thank you so much for this tutorial. I think I’m now ready to head in and try one at the local dairy. Now I know I won’t be laughed out of the place.

  7. sandra (another kiwi
    Posted June 6, 2009 at 1:25 am | Permalink

    mmmmm pies – i stumbled across the Tuck shop a few years ago when i was over there and ha not been home for 6 months and had the best pie and a lamington for afters!

  8. Posted June 6, 2009 at 6:43 pm | Permalink

    My boyfriend plays Australian rules football and they always have meat pies at all their events. They are great, we are usually a bit tipsy, and the butter crust with the spicy meat is heaven sent! Now you have me craving them!:)

  9. Chrissy
    Posted June 9, 2009 at 4:18 am | Permalink

    oh man! this blog is like what my dreams are made of! you say things like ‘un-legit’ and talk about pie etiquette!
    we make the best pies at my work! my fave is spinach and mushroom, but I remember when I was younger getting steak and cheese or steak and mushroom pies from the bakery for Sunday lunch!


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

