paris in half a nut shell….

the other half comes later…. because I don’t want to bombard you all with my blithering on and on about it,  so in a nut shell….

notredame

Paris is spectacularly beautiful (above Notre Dame)

street

its also a totally confusing city (yes I wore circles around the place)

bikes

the weather could not have been more perfect, blue skies, in the 80’s the entire time and as every Parisienne informed us, the last 2 weeks it had been raining consistently

flowers

my command of a language, other than English (which is sketchy at best) was proven to be hilarious and equally embarrassing, for all those present AND unexplainable – for some reason when panicked and faced with a barrage of french spoken at me,  I revert to pigeon Spanish (?), which I also can’t speak, and just start spluttering GRACIA’S, GRACIA’S… to the peels of laughter and horror of my much chic-er friends

wall

Paris is really, really, really, really OLD!

the time difference (6 hours), coupled with the 6 1/2 flight time which is not long enough to actually sleep on the plane is particularly BRUTAL

food

I encountered a couple of confusing meals… the first night I ordered a starter of country pate, which came out in an entire jar on a plate… okay generous but a bit weird, followed by sardines, which I naturally just assumed would be fresh sardines…. um wrong, when the waiter theatrically presented me a plate with a CAN OF SARDINES on it, I thought it was a joke and started laughing… um a word to the wise, you might not want to take this approach when dining in Paris.  So to sum up that dinner was a jar followed by a can, HUH? I’m still pretty confused by it.

balcony

we had an awesome apartment in the Marais found through this website, which was way better than a hotel room, it had kitchen, washer/dryer, 2 bedrooms, 2 bath, large lounge chilling area and of course was in an amazing part of Paris

chairs

sitting around drinking countless cups of “grand creme” is a totally acceptable form of tourism in Paris

hg

the end cap, and the whole reason I went to Paris, was for Heathers show at the Grand Rex.  She being the special guest for Abd Al Malik (yes I spent time practicing how not to butcher his name), was totally AWESOME.  A packed house of about 5,000 punters all going banana’s, well in a french way of course.  Total success!

Abd Al Malik is a spectacular performer and I have to say I have never seen someone so diverse in his music and artistry, he’s a poet, does spoken word, sings and raps and whilst I had no bleedin idea what he was saying, it was still an amazing concert.

Paris was just absolutely brilliant!

8 Comments

  1. Posted May 27, 2009 at 3:56 pm | Permalink

    So jealous!

  2. Posted May 27, 2009 at 5:16 pm | Permalink

    Loved the photos…only been there once as 16yr old by myself, but still remember it well, gorgeous place, will go back one day.

  3. Posted May 27, 2009 at 6:08 pm | Permalink

    Wow! Fantastic…I hope to go one day and will be sure to ask about other dinner experiences. I love the jar followed by the can, but it is wacky.

  4. Jam T
    Posted May 27, 2009 at 11:19 pm | Permalink

    awesome pictures. eat anything delicious over there? besides the jar of pate and canned sardines heh…

  5. Jill
    Posted May 27, 2009 at 11:56 pm | Permalink

    Ok, a few questions while I am stunned by the great photos.
    1) Hows the Coffee? as good as NZ, and is ‘grande cream’ like a latte?
    2) I love the Apratment building – what part of the city was it in?
    3) The picture that Heather is standing in front of, wheres that from?
    4) ‘Old photo” with jar in window, do you know actually how old that part of the city is? Cheers!!

    • thecatskillkiwi
      Posted May 28, 2009 at 9:03 am | Permalink

      the coffee is really good, and a grand creme is i think the equivalent to your “flat white”
      the apartment is in the “Marais” area, very central #3 neighborhood
      heather is standing in front of a wall that is next to an old photo shop that sold old, rare and interesting prints
      the wall is in the “Marais” where we stayed and I believe this is the oldest part of the city… how old?
      Dungeon and Dragons old!!!

  6. Janelle
    Posted May 28, 2009 at 4:56 am | Permalink

    ok just so everyone knows…as soon as you took the plane (well i guess starting the night before to be honest) it turned gray and cloudy in gay paris and the weather has been shit since. hmmm…waiting for your return visit 🙂
    one of your parisian friends xoxoxo

  7. Posted June 2, 2009 at 10:26 am | Permalink

    it’s my dream to go to Paris!

    lovely photos 🙂


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

