the weekend

Cor blimey, I got up at sparrows fart this weekend and set about getting things in order.  Mr Weiss and I have been downstate for the past 10 days or so and in our absence from the Catskills,  ALL HELL’S BROKEN LOOSE!

Okay, well not quite, but I could not believe me eyes, in fact I was lucky nothing flew into me mouth, it was so wide open in awe at the difference the past 10 days have made.  And seeing as the birds around here have a penchant for dark cavernous places , we found another 2 dead fellas down the chimney.  I’m still waiting for “Down Yours”, the local chimney dude to put on the chimney guard so the idiot birds won’t be able to fly in.  But referring to local time and saying “I’ll be round tomorrow”, translates to anything between tomorrow and 6 months.

10 days ago                                                                                               now

10daysagoflowergarden

blossoms

amazing blossoms that weren’t there when we left….

crazygrass

crazy patch of grass that is twice as tall as the rest of the lawn, which is already mid-calf

new tree

tiny twig of a tree with first leaf! SHAME.

lilacblossom

lilacs starting to bloom….

I went banana’s planting…..

gardenplanted

and then it was time to tackle the lawns…. when Mr Weiss and I bought the “wee house” with its 5 acres of perfectly mowed lawns and 5 acres of pine and maple forests, neither of us gave it a second thought about the actual logistics of mowing this amount of grass. Every time we saw the house and it’s pristine lawns,  it never crossed our minds that once bought this place we would then be tackling this with nothing more than a pair o scissors!

We stumbled upon this bad boy, whilst out for a drive, for sale on the side of the road.  Brought up from auction, an ex East Hampton Highway mower… the big gun… it has a 7 ft mowing deck, hydrolics, adjustable blade length, reverse, gears, runs on diesel and has DO NOT MESS WITH ME written all over it, well not literally but I may just scribble this on!

mrweissmower

Mr Weiss calmly taking it for a spin…  and then it’s my turn….

memower

and just in case you missed my face

memower copy

BUT after I got the hang of it, it was loads of fun.  Mr Weiss and I may just get into fisticuffs over who gets to mow the lawn first.

Next time I swear I will be doing donuts and making my own crop circles, you wait and see!

7 Comments

  1. VigneronRowland
    Posted May 18, 2009 at 11:26 am | Permalink

    Nice Wellies

  2. Posted May 18, 2009 at 2:57 pm | Permalink

    Hey T – Love reading the updates on your place upstate! Great blog!

  3. Posted May 18, 2009 at 8:46 pm | Permalink

    cool!

  4. John Scott
    Posted May 19, 2009 at 11:09 am | Permalink

    Please add my name to the waiting list for people who want to mow your lawn.

    • thecatskillkiwi
      Posted May 19, 2009 at 6:18 pm | Permalink

      you can be first on the list!

  5. Lynda
    Posted May 19, 2009 at 10:28 pm | Permalink

    Your place looks like heaven. I can smell the lilacs and imagine how good it must be to sit in those chairs, cocktails in hand surveying the freshly mown grass.

  6. wendelltwebber
    Posted May 21, 2009 at 11:53 am | Permalink

    What I wouldn’t have given to have been there for that ride.


One Trackback/Pingback

  1. […] curious about the length of the grass after our first mammoth mow down, now 2 weeks […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

