burnt, damn birds and trees trees and more stinkin trees

Okay so hands up who got sun burned over the weekend? Come on be honest…. you did didn’t you, yes you did I can see the screaming angry red skin from here.  Yes we did get burned, no we weren’t wearing sunblock and yes we do have ridiculous matching t-shirt tans.  My hair spared me the stereotypical “red neck”, but unfortunately Mr Weiss’s is a huge flaming beacon… oh dear, I’m off to get the block.

As if that wasn’t enough excitement for the weekend a stupid bird flew down the chimney and it was making quite a racket trying to get out…. “hey bird, listen up it’s never gonna happen, that’s a cast iron coffin you’re in!”.  So when Mr Weiss opened the stove door to let it out, he was sandwiched in between me flapping my arms and screaming “get it outa here, get it OUTA here” and the stupid bird headbutting the window thinking it was getting closer to the great out doors.  Mr Weiss managed to shoo it out the door and it left a bit sooty, relatively unscathed but most likely traumatized, which is more than I can say for me….. so much for my beauty sleep, all this excitement was unfolding at the ungraceful hour of 8.03 Saturday morning.

Since we were up anyway and there was already a gorgeous day unfolding, we decided to get a jump start on the poo removal (if you have no idea what I’m taking about here, scroll down until you come to a polaroid picture depicting a massive pile o dung and read on dear reader, read on!).

gardentarp

A farm vender at the Union Square Farmers Market suggested to me a solution for my un-aged manure, to douse it with water, churn it over and cover it with a tarp so it “cooks” and breaks down faster with the heat.  Yes positively lovely I know, so for the 3rd time we got shoveling and pitchforking away, removing the crap from the beds, adding it to the pile and covering everything with tarps.  Now just sit back and see, she suggested we do this, leave it for a week and then repeat.  So there will be more fun and games to look forward to next weekend.

Then it was time to turn our attention to the trees… oh yes the trees, I haven’t actually mentioned them yet.  Last year when I was all gung ho about planting I joined the Arbor Society and started madly ordering fruit trees, promptly forgot about them and then when it wasn’t like I had NOTHING else to do, lo and behold the box of trees showed up on our doorstep, clinging on for dear life and waiting desperately to be unleashed and settled in their new soily home.

potentialorchard

Well little did I think this through that when I ordered 10 or so trees, that this would involve diggin friggin 10 or so holes.  So here we were in the 85F+ heat traipsing about the lawn digging furiously, which is not easy considering the ROCK presence in Delaware Country soil.  It wasn’t until Mr Weiss pointed out that hadn’t I actually ordered more trees we should be expecting, that I almost took a shovel to myself!

Next time small doses, SMALL doses….. so help me.

8 Comments

  1. Posted April 27, 2009 at 4:15 pm | Permalink

    But think of how wonderful it will be once you have an orchard full of trees!! Oh to have an orchard- or a garden- or some sort of outdoor space!

  2. Posted April 27, 2009 at 6:54 pm | Permalink

    You need to get chimney screen installed up top. You’re lucky it was just a bird this time. Critters love chimneys. It’s not very expensive. Have the guy who cleans your chimney each year put it in for you (umm…you do have a guy who cleans your chimney don’t you?)

  3. thecatskillkiwi
    Posted April 27, 2009 at 7:06 pm | Permalink

    we do have a chimney dude he’s called “Down Yours” which I think is hilarious!! Now we have a woody woodpecker pecking at the metal, surely he’s not mistaken the chimney for a tree? I’d like to give the bird more credit than that…. but?

  4. Gabriel
    Posted April 27, 2009 at 8:55 pm | Permalink

    I love “Down Yours”. Brilliant! It’s great that you’re planting all those trees. Thanks for your contribution to cleaning our air. Keep ’em coming. Any chance you can find someone with some big John Deere thingamajigee to dig a row of holes for you?

  5. VigneronRowland
    Posted April 27, 2009 at 9:18 pm | Permalink

    what type of trees did you order?

  6. thecatskillkiwi
    Posted April 27, 2009 at 9:27 pm | Permalink

    pairs of peach, plum, apricot, cherry and a concord grape vine

  7. VigneronRowland
    Posted April 28, 2009 at 9:28 am | Permalink

    Whats your elevation? (you can check on google earth, just mouse over your house/garden area and it will tell you the elevation) also are you facing south, is the land flat flat flat or slightly hilly.

  8. aroundabout
    Posted April 29, 2009 at 11:17 pm | Permalink

    just think of the joy you will have in 5 years with those trees!


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

