animal, vegetable…. blah de blah

I started reading this….

barbarak

and I have to say my confidence is plummeting, I may even be on the verge of freaking out man!   I mean I’m only a chapter or so in and Barbara is talking about growing asparagus, which takes LIKE EONS, before you can get your choppers around it, so that’s most definitely off any list.  The all consuming task of actually reaping any benefits, should they not be destroyed by every bug, beetle, bad weather and general second coming of Gomorrah, not to mention my recent trauma of the dung delivery.  I’m trying to get my head around the fact that I’m supposed to be planting in this shit, LITERALLY… and seriously, like Meredith Grey seriously? Yes the finger is firmly poised over the panic button, yes indeed and I might need you all to talk me down off the ledge.

on a more positive note HAPPY EARTH DAY!

4 Comments

  1. VigneronRowland
    Posted April 24, 2009 at 5:57 pm | Permalink

    You did dig all that dung into the soil right? Its probably not going to be too effective just as a layer on top.

  2. thecatskillkiwi
    Posted April 24, 2009 at 7:15 pm | Permalink

    well that’s were we have a problem, there basically is no soil to speak of, its all rock, so I did fill up the garden beds with this stuff, but I now have subsequently been told I cannot grow in it as it is not “aged” enough and too much in a raw state…. so this weekend I have the pleasure of removing it all off the beds again… you can probably hear me screaming from here!

  3. Posted April 26, 2009 at 8:23 pm | Permalink

    As someone who started gardening knowing NOTHING, I will say this – try your best to relax and enjoy the experience. You will learn SO MUCH this year. You will eat some lovely veggies and herbs, and suffer some disappointments. Soldier on! Next year your soil will be improved, your knowledge will be deeper, and on and on . . . every year with more knowledge under your belt.
    I’m starting a new garden this year in a community garden space – I bought a condo where there is no gardening to speak of! (I’m sneaking in an herb garden outside if no one complains!) My tomatoes and chard will grow in this new 20×20 plot for which I paid $15 for the season, surrounded by a bunch of people I don’t know. We’ll see . . . every year is something new.

  4. thecatskillkiwi
    Posted April 27, 2009 at 3:15 pm | Permalink

    You know Green Key, you’re right… I think I’m just getting a little bit ahead of myself in my desperate attempt to grow something. I shall take your advice, relax a bit, wrap my head around the fact that I will be disappointed, but I will definitely get to eat something I grow!


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

