wild kingdom

Mr Weiss and I have been ripped apart for the night… he with commitments in the city, me with the call of the wild.  My first night alone in the country and I’ve already spotted (from the safety of behind glass) this creature..

wild-kingdom

the firing off of the shutter, followed by the frenzied email to Mr Weiss, the questions.. “what is it, what should I do,  should I be alarmed, is it friend or foe?”…

answer: woodchuck or groundhog and possibly this is the same thing? I can feel myself reaching for the keys… skid marks down the drive, I’m outta here.  Nah, surely I’m made of sterner stuff? I guess we shall just see now won’t we.

I hope I haven’t bitten off more than I can chew (no pun intended!), this wasn’t that long ago.

11 Comments

  1. Posted April 8, 2009 at 6:02 pm | Permalink

    why dont you sing like snow white see if he wants to come be your friend.

  2. Posted April 8, 2009 at 6:04 pm | Permalink

    Is that the vege garden in front of him….

  3. thecatskillkiwi
    Posted April 8, 2009 at 6:08 pm | Permalink

    yes and it better stay on that side of the fence!!

  4. Mame Johnston
    Posted April 8, 2009 at 6:45 pm | Permalink

    That little ol’ woodchuck will not hurt you. He will, however, dig up your lawn and leave holes that will break a leg or two. They’re herbivores and will love your garden if you leave the gate open. Also, be careful of the bears up there. One came into our yard in town and bent a pipe in half that was holding our bird feeder. The same thing happened to our son that lives behind the bank. They are not picky about where they get their food. All that said, you are pretty safe there. Loved the Matzo Crack recipe. It reminds me of one I make with saltine crackers. Have a Happy Easter.

    • thecatskillkiwi
      Posted April 8, 2009 at 6:47 pm | Permalink

      so now I know what those mounds of dirt are on my lawn!!

  5. Gabriel
    Posted April 8, 2009 at 8:02 pm | Permalink

    Oh no, say it’s not so! You said you had no critter problems. You’d be better off with deer and bear. Those little buggers are the bain of my existance. They have cost me hundreds of dollars in damage every summer. Okay, stay calm. I’ve tried EVERYTHING out there. I’ll tell you what may work and what not to waste your money on. I’ve tried humanely trapping them and so far have caught 2 raccoons and 1 skunk! As the humorless local woman who runs the garden center nearby told me “Stop wasting your money and get yourself a shotgun and learn how to use it. That’s the only way you’re really gonna get rid of em once and for all.” I hate to say it but I think she’s right. I can see it now. The Catskill Kiwi recipe for the day: Groundhog stew!

  6. kim
    Posted April 9, 2009 at 7:52 am | Permalink

    Hey, I’ve never had woodchuck problems myself (I live in an appartment) but from my bedroom window I have a view on how my downstairs neighbours got rid of theirs: They’ve stuck this big pole in the ground, and over the top they’ve slid an empty plastic bottle with some plastic ‘wings’ sticking out (like a windmill). This looks absolutely ridiculous (especially seen from my angle, it puzzled me for days) but it seems to have worked, no more dirt heaps on their lawn. Apparently the wind makes the bottle spin and rattle against the pole, which leads the sound into the ground scaring of the mighty beasts.
    Good luck!

  7. thecatskillkiwi
    Posted April 9, 2009 at 9:28 am | Permalink

    Kim, I might just be giving that contraption a Go!

  8. Posted April 10, 2009 at 11:16 am | Permalink

    First off, you should only put out birdseed in the winter, when the black bears are hibernating. If you put it out now, you will attract them, and they will tear down your feeder. Now is the time to put bird feeders away. Put it back out in the early winter, when the birds really need it.

    I have lived with woodchucks, and it ain’t pretty. They eat pretty much anything you can grow, veggies AND flowers. I’ve heard the only way to keep them out of a garden is to install a chicken wire fence, with the fencing buried at least 6 inches (maybe more) into the ground, so they can’t dig under it. Keep the top 6 inches of the wire unattached to the supports, so that when they climb, the wire flops backwards, and they fall off.

    They won’t hurt you, but they tunnel – I had them under my house one year – and cause a fair amount of damage.

    So sorry, but that’s country life!

  9. thecatskillkiwi
    Posted April 10, 2009 at 1:39 pm | Permalink

    my eyes are as wide as saucers right now!!

  10. Posted April 12, 2009 at 8:53 am | Permalink

    Gosh, I love my woodchucks! We have them every year – usually they live under our shed. I don’t have a vegetable garden, but I do have a garden and I have had no problem with them eating anything! Woodchucks are vegetarians and make an elaborate tunnel system in which to live. One tunnel for living, one for elimination and so on. I find them to be gentle, sweet creatures. I live in the Hudson Valley, by the way. Anyway, that’s my two cents for what its worth.


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

