soba ya

This should be your dinner destination tonight (well if you’re in the vicinity that is, its good but it ain’t walk on water good if you know what I mean),  it’s one of my restaurant staples when we come bouncing back into the city.   Soba ya,  a soba and udon noodle place on 9th st in the East Village,  been there for yonkers and is ALWAYS busy, no matter what time or day of the week you go.

I’m a little embarrassed to admit that I have turned into one of these rigid new yorkers that I used to make fun of relentlessly when I spent my first years here waitressing. (“Oh here comes large hummus, side of bacon, and a latte” – or “here comes smoked salmon and endive salad, no endive, dressing on the side, tea with lemon.”)  Oh how painful the realization is that now I myself only go to certain places and pretty much order from a select handful of dishes that have been scrutinized and approved.

Anyway I have been coming here for years and not really varying much from from ordering: Yasai,  a steaming bowl of flavorful broth jam packed full of veges (udon or soba), or the Nebayaki, same concept but with shrimp tempura, egg and chicken thrown into the mix.  The tempura batter is light and crunchy,  the sushi a little different from the norm.  Age dashi tofu has a perfect crisp coating and sits in a puddle of delicious sauce and the marinated tuna over seasoned rice is also a staple.

You will find me there between 6.30 and 7.00 (yes yes I like my dinners early) sitting in the corner of the bar area, slurping up my favorite soup and usually blistering the roof of my mouth at the same time.

One Comment

  1. Mike
    Posted April 2, 2009 at 1:06 am | Permalink

    Nice! You rock.


One Trackback/Pingback

  1. […] Soba -ya 229 East 9th St.  Early bird dinner special (5.30pm-6.30pm) $18 bucks will get you assorted appetizer plate, tempura, plain soba or udon (hot or cold), Inari sushi and dessert, awesome deal.  I’m always slouched over at the bar evidence here. […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

