i heart baking soda

Now that I’m a home owner (chuckle chuckle) and I’m trying not to pollute the earth around me, not that I was prone to round amok before spraying toxic waste in me wake, but I’m more consciously being green.  Especially when it comes to cleaning products and since we are on well water and that water seeps back into the earth and then subsequently back into the well…. or at least I think it does?  I hardly want to poison myself or Mr Weiss with some nasty ass detergents.

So I’ve been finding myself reaching for that box of baking soda and using it on just about everything.  Including my stomach, when I may or may not (I’m not freely admitting to anything at this point in time people) have overindulged in Haagen Daas Chocolate Peanut Butter Chunk ice cream, my favorite flavor, but boy it does a number on my gut.  Mr Weiss is commonly rushing into the kitchen arming himself with the baking soda (1/2 tsp to 1/2 cup water dissolved) is all you need for a QUICK remedy on something I’m not quite willing to give up just yet and it doesn’t even taste that bad.

Other uses…. beetroot juice on a wooden cutting board? no problem, sprinkle down some soda leave for about 5 minutes and scrub off, gone.  In fact that’s pretty much the drill for everything.  My kitchen sink is sparkling white after a total scrub down, and its a whopping 89c per box…. VALUE!!!  I wonder if it comes in bucket size?

baking-soda

PS I just found this hand written note by my grandmother on my favorite product!

nan-recipe-1-copy

4 Comments

  1. Mame Johnston
    Posted March 22, 2009 at 6:50 pm | Permalink

    It does actually come in huge size at Sam’s Club or Costco, etc., but you can’t use that variety for indigestion. FYI

  2. Jill
    Posted March 22, 2009 at 7:12 pm | Permalink

    Try using it on your teeth as a toothpaste, to kill germs and whiten! It works! Also very good for unblocking drains that have soapy build up.

  3. lynn
    Posted March 23, 2009 at 9:33 pm | Permalink

    i use baking soda on my teeth a couple of times a week. it does whiten. my dentist thought i had been bleaching them.

    i use 1 part white vinegar to 2 parts water to clean and disinfect my cutting boards and counter tops. i also use vinegar in my wash for towels we use in the hottub and pool. it will also remove animal odors and more importantly. as the vinegar smell disipates it takes bad odor with it.

    • thecatskillkiwi
      Posted March 23, 2009 at 9:37 pm | Permalink

      Hi Lynn thanks so much for your baking soda and vinegar tips! hopefully one of my next projects will be installing a hot tub!! so i will remember your towel advice.


One Trackback/Pingback

  1. […] you have read this, you will know that I am somewhat a fan of chocolate and peanut butter (have the baking soda at the […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

