The Peekamoose

The next time your burning rubber up Rte 28 and you’ve passed Phoenica,  Shandaken and you’re about to cruise on by Pine Hill and Big Indian, heading towards Arkville, Margaretville, Andes and the great abyss beyond… do yourself a favor, hit the skids, pull a uee and hightail it in for dinner at the Peekamoose.  Probably the BEST restaurant in the Catskills,  yes a bold statement my friends but by jove both my stomach and mouth stand by it…… to put it plainly,  the dude can cook.

Now there are two sides to this establishment, there’s the dining room and the bar.  I prefer the dark, intimate bar area where you can order from both the dining room menu and a tavern menu, best of both worlds in my opinion and it’s a bit more cas…  BUT be warned there’s a fine line between casual AND rip your eyes out where’s-my-friggin-food-I’m-about-to-start-chewing-on-my-sweater-slowness… this unfortunately inflicts the Peekamoose, oh sigh….. but again don’t despair,  there is a way around this that I have already suffered through,  which you need not.   Yes,  you’re welcome.

If you are ordering appetizers and entrees, you NEED to, trust me, NEED to,  have your waiter fire everything at the same time. Don’t panic this will not result in you cramming yourself senseless in order to make room on the table, but it will however avoid you having to wait a PAINFULLY long time between courses.  Unless I’m mistaken I may have actually nodded off between courses the last time I forgot this one simple rule.  However if you’re the kind that likes to spend 3-4 hours over dinner, which to me is enough time to lose my appetite,  and regain it multiple times in one sitting that leaves my stomach in a total state of confusion…. I don’t spend 4 hours on anything,  let alone waiting for me tea to show up!  I mean there’s mountain time and there’s m.o.u.n.t.a.i.n tiiiiiiiiiiiiime,  but me thinks you get my drift.

Follow this one crucial rule and you will not be disappointed.  I have probably been here a dozen times and the execution of this cooking is always spot on.  So far we have feasted on….  beet tartar, 12 ingredient chopped salad, portabello burger (deemed best ever by someone who’s eaten his fair share of the ubiquitous bello burg), bar sirloin steak, pan roasted rainbow trout, slow roasted braised short ribs, beer battered cod & chips, wood grilled burger, vidalia onions rings (so good they’re ridiculous!), to name a few.

Its a short trot from Belleayre Mountain, so if you find yourself looking for an apres ski spot, this is most definitely it.  Kick back, fuel up, ignore the food bloat and try not to nod off on your drive home!  Oh and they usually have the outdoor fire pit roaring,  with marshmallows and sticks, for your inner kid,  to just tip you right over that edge into oblivion!

peekamoose1

3 Comments

  1. Posted March 18, 2009 at 10:41 pm | Permalink

    Interesting blog, I’ll try and spread the word.

  2. Posted March 19, 2009 at 12:16 pm | Permalink

    Just bumped into your blog – its lovely. I am a fellow Kiwi transplanted in Los Angeles. I haven’t been to the Catskills – but it looks so awfully beautiful.

  3. thecatskillkiwi
    Posted March 19, 2009 at 12:51 pm | Permalink

    Hey thanks for stopping by, hope you’ll come back, there will be plenty of good ole kiwi references coming up… stay tuned for my pavlova post! and also all things Catskills. It is very very beautiful here.


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

