garlic

My friend Sarah turned me onto Dorot frozen cubes of garlic sold at Trader Joes and I should have listed them in along with my obsessions because I use it at every opportunity.  In fact I lied in my risotto recipe by saying 2 cloves of garlic minced, yeah I didn’t do that, I popped open 2 frozen cubes and that my friend was that….

I also have the Basil and Cilantro frozen cubes, and until my garden is up and running and the option of not driving to the nearest supermarket (now the fancy Fresh Town in Margaretville, good riddance A&P), which is still 30 minutes away,  has been removed, this frozen pantry staple is the business!  And whilst I do LOVE this product I am not however insane enough to put up with the sea of inhumanity that seems to shop all at once at the 14th St Trader Joes.  Good grief woman, the line to pay was backed up all the way to the ENTRANCE, the last time I walked in and promptly out again.  No my friends,  I bust through to Paramus on my way upstate and enjoy the calm, leisurely. civilized experience of stocking up!  HAHA all you line suckers…

garlic

ps. while you’re at it, pick up the Trader Joes Pizza dough… its fantastic you can make really really thin crust pizza!

PS Sarah just sent me this link which is hilarious!!

http://www.seriouseats.com/2009/02/in-videos-the-unofficial-trader-joes-commercial.html

4 Comments

  1. Mame Johnston
    Posted March 21, 2009 at 3:37 pm | Permalink

    Aren’t these the greatest thing since sliced bread? Seriously, I don’t know how I ever cooked without them. Where in Roxbury do you live? That’s my old time home. We now live in NC south of Raleigh and northeast of Charlotte. No one knows where Roxbury is and you have to tell them it’s south & west of Albany, east of Kingston…you know the drill. Luckily where I live there is a Trader Joe’s within an hour of my house as well as a Whole Foods to boot. Didn’t you have the roughest winter ever? We left there in ’83 and moved back in ’01 for two years. I just couldn’t take the winters any longer so we came back to NC. We journey up there about 3 times a year as our children and grandchildren live there. Enjoy your blog SSSSSOOOO much. My mouth was watering when I saw the photos of the Pav! Beautiful!!!!

  2. thecatskillkiwi
    Posted March 21, 2009 at 6:04 pm | Permalink

    Hi Mame, we are between are on the other side of Roxbury township towards Grand Gorge, up on the side of the mountain…. its beautiful here.
    Thanks for your comments, hope you will visit again.

  3. Mame Johnston
    Posted March 21, 2009 at 6:14 pm | Permalink

    Are you near Olive Van Naken? She lives at the end of Mac More Road. Or are you in Montgomery Hollow near Hubbells Corner? What’s your temp there today? I think our son told us that the snow around his house in town is now gone, thank God! Have you purchased any of Shawn Farnum’s amazing maple syrup yet? It’s so worth it! He’s my son’s partner in the Tree Amigos Tree Service business, too. Happy spring!

  4. thecatskillkiwi
    Posted March 22, 2009 at 1:54 pm | Permalink

    I will definitely check out the maple syrup… YUM!


2 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. […] heated with 1 sprig rosemary, 1/2 tsp mustard powder, 2 cloves garlic mushed (I used my favorite Trader Joes Dorot garlic) if you don’t have that, peel cloves mince really fine, then add a big pinch of kosher salt […]

  2. […] 3 cloves garlic strangled through a garlic press or us these […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

