blueberry bread

Rifling through the freezer I came across a bag of frozen blueberries from our summer picking extravaganza! With a household of two, my wardrobe does encourage whole pie eating, so I have to find some recipes that we can treat ourselves without gorging, under the bag of blueberries I also found already banana and zucchini bread, now I’m adding blueberry to the list.

Blueberry bread (adapted from bunsinmyoven)

Usually when you see “adapted” next to my recipes, this means I found something I wanted to make but didn’t quite have all the ingredients listed to pull it off… then comes the “experimentation” switching things out to accommodate my cupboard and not facilitate a 30 min drive to the grocery store!)

3/4 c raw brown sugar

2 eggs

3/4 c milk

1/2 c buttermilk

1/4 c vegetable oil

2 1/4 c white whole wheat flour

1 c oats

2 tsp baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt

1 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp nutmeg

1 c blueberries

1 c chopped walnuts

Oven 35oF

Grease a loaf pan.

In a standing mixer beat the sugar, eggs, milk, oil, buttermilk together. Add the flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt and spices, mix to combine. Fold in blueberries and walnuts. Mixture will be quite thick. Scrape into loaf pan, bake roughly 1 hour until a toothpick comes out clean.

smack on the butter and we have a winner.

2 Comments

  1. Posted March 24, 2011 at 11:07 am | Permalink

    Love a good quick bread, especially with blueberries. And since I’ve been sick for the past week, I’m craving all sorts of foods… like blueberry pie! Summer just can’t get here fast enough.

  2. Posted March 31, 2011 at 10:56 am | Permalink

    This is a rare find, blueberry bread…yum, thanks for sharing – I have some overripe bananas I think I will try adding in too!


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

