the three P’s

Inspired by a small wedge of Paneer cheese I had floating around, and never ever wanting to waste food, I decided to try my hand at a Paneer style curry.  Looked around online for inspiration, but didn’t really find anything that incorporated my three main ingredients, the three P’s… peas, potatoes and paneer.  So I haphazardly slapped three (my lucky #) different recipes together and came up with this.

Peas Potatoes & Paneer (Mutter Paneer or Aloo Matar with Paneer)

12 oz block paneer cheese cut into cubes (Indian white cheese usually found in blocks)

2 medium onions peeled

2 inch piece ginger peeled

3 cloves garlic peeled

3 small chilies seeded and sliced

2 potatoes peeled and cut into chunks

1 14 oz can diced tomatoes

1 1/2 c peas

1/4 c vegetable oil, divided

1 tsp coriander, 1 tsp garam masala, 1/2 tsp tumeric, 1/2 tsp cumin, 1/2 tsp salt

In a non stick pan, heat 2 tbsp vegetable oil and gently fry paneer until golden brown, drain on paper towels.

Grind the onions to a thick paste in a cuisinart, set aside, next grind the garlic and ginger into a paste, set aside.  Heat 2 tbsp vegetable oil add onions and saute until light brown, about 20 mins, add garlic,  ginger and tomatoes, cook 2 mins, add spices and chilies,  cook 2 mins. Add potatoes cover and cook 3 mins. Next add 2 c water and simmer until potatoes are just cooked, about 30 mins. Add paneer and peas, stir, cover and cook another 10 mins.

sauteing onions, garlic, ginger, tomatoes and spices…. water and potatoes added, just before peas and paneer

I didn’t have any plain rice but found a bag of pre-made frozen Briyani mix from good ole Trader Joe’s… it was so good I plowed through two plates worth! Now I’m completely stuffed and slightly sickened with myself but the antidote to that is to make use of this FRESH POWDER and throw myself down the mountain!

2 Comments

  1. Stephanie
    Posted January 13, 2011 at 2:41 pm | Permalink

    Yum, this sounds delicious…I love all three P’s and will definitely make this one!

    • thecatskillkiwi
      Posted January 13, 2011 at 5:23 pm | Permalink

      make sure you do seed the chilies though, i did it half heartedly and it almost blew me mouth off!!


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers

