foiled

I was all gung ho ambitious this weekend to make gazpacho, ambitious not because it’s hard or anything, BUT more because up here in the Catskill’s it’s practically winter already!  I mean it’s freezing so I don’t know what I was thinking whipping up a cold summer soup when I was huddled over in a sweater doing so.

Dinner plans got changed rapido when I stopped giving myself this speech… “the weather is going to get better and the sun will shine again” yeah it’s not, lets call a spade a spade…. summer is over… the grass growth is slowing down, the tomatoes are still green and rotten or they’ve got the blight, or whatever, I still don’t know, but I have officially given up.

So whilst the Gazpacho sits still chilling in the refrigerator, I switched gears and whipped up this, but seeing as I’m still up to me eyeballs in swiss chard, I modified it to accommodate me trying to use this stuff up.

chardtart1

Swiss Chard & Asparagus Tart

Pate Brisee (adapted from Joy of Baking)

2 1/2 c ap flour

1 tsp salt

1 tbsp sugar

1 c (2 sticks) butter (cut into pieces)

1/4 – 1/2 c ice water

In a food processor, pulse flour, salt and sugar together. Add butter and pulse until coarse crumb stage.  Add water slowly until dough just comes together when pinched.  Divide in half, cover with plastic wrap and chill one half for 30 mins.  The other you can freeze and use when your so in love with this tart you just can’t get enough AND you already have a dough in the hole!

Roll dough blind bake at 400F for 15 mins, take out weights, bake again at 375 for another 15 mins.

Filling

1 onion sliced

4 cloves garlic sliced

8 baby potatoes par boiled, sliced thin

1/3 bunch asparagus (cut into 2 inch pieces)

1 bunch chard roughly chopped

1/4 cup green olives pitted and sliced

2 tbsp chopped parsley

1/4 tsp crushed red pepper flakes

1/2 c ricotta

2 egg yolks

1/2 c grated parmesan

2 tbsp olive oil

Heat 1 tbsp oil and saute onions and garlic until golden brown, set aside.  Heat remaining oil and saute potato slices until lightly golden, set aside with onions  Blanche chard and asparagus until just barely cooked.  Mix ricotta, egg yolks, 1/4 c parmesan, red pepper flakes, parsley and a big pinch of both salt and pepper, toss together with all the veggies… except potatoes, layer these on bottom of pie base.  Pour mixture on over, smooth down and sprinkle remaining 1/4 c cheese on top.  Bake 30 mins until golden and set.

chardtart

okay okay Sunday was actually nice… we ate leftovers of this cold for lunch.  Maybe the gazpacho will see the light of day after all.

2 Comments

  1. Posted August 31, 2009 at 4:57 pm | Permalink

    Yum! I love a good tart. Some people say that about me too.

  2. Posted September 5, 2009 at 11:49 pm | Permalink

    The tart looks heavenly! And the gazpacho too. And most of the time eating (or drinking) chilly stuff during the chills actually make them taste better…I’ve been known to whip up three kinds of ice-creams in a week during winter and none at all during summer!


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 45 other followers

