benefits

Yesterday was the best day ever! Okay I realize with this statement I sound like I’m 5, but come on if I’m killing myself, running at every opportunity, between NYC and upstate NY then I want some country benefits… yesterday people was what it’s all about….

I picked these off the lawn

wildflowers

I harvested this from the garden….

greens

at first I felt really bad about ripping them out since they’ve only just been put in, talk about cutting something off at the knees, ankles even.   But I have it on good authority that seedlings need to be thinned, ensuring the strong have room to survive and the guilt subsided fairly quickly when I realized these tender morsels are what I shell out an arm and a leg for at the Union Square farmers market!  Oh happy days…

I took an afternoon tea break and baked this….

banana bread

Yum, recipe here

Then I made some of this

crostini

1/2  a baguette, cut in 1/4 slices, 1/2 cup olive oil, 2 tbsp chopped fresh rosemary, 3 cloves garlic smooshed into a paste.  Mix everything together and brush onto slices, bake at 400F on sheet pan until golden, on each side, about 10-15 mins.

This became part of dinner

pea soup

Chilled Pea Soup

3 cups shelled peas

1 large bunch pea shoots

3 tbsp yogurt

3 tbsp milk

2 tbsp chopped fresh mint

Lots of SALT and pepper

about 5 cups water (I like chilled soups to be quite thin, but you can monitor your water to your own desired consistency)

Blanch peas and pea shoots in pot of boiling water about 3 mins, drain immediately and dump into a iced water bath, puree in a blender in batches adding one cup water each time, add the mint in the last addition, then whisk the yogurt and milk together until smooth and add into pea puree, season with ALOT of salt, we used 2 tbps and a fairly hefty dose of pepper, but I will leave this up to your own tastebuds, just taste as you go, but it’s going to need it.

Chill then eat…. and preferably follow with a bit of this…

days end

and that’s what it’s all about!

11 Comments

  1. Posted June 11, 2009 at 11:21 am | Permalink

    A gorgeous day!

  2. Lee
    Posted June 11, 2009 at 5:09 pm | Permalink

    AAAhhh… and not a scary critter in sight…enjoy!

  3. Jacquie
    Posted June 11, 2009 at 5:26 pm | Permalink

    Wow, the last shot looks so beautiful it could almost have been taken in NZ!

  4. Posted June 11, 2009 at 5:48 pm | Permalink

    i would have given my left breast for a day like that yesterday….wicked

    • thecatskillkiwi
      Posted June 11, 2009 at 5:52 pm | Permalink

      um extreme, but okay

  5. Jill
    Posted June 11, 2009 at 5:49 pm | Permalink

    Now thats what I’m talking about! chillin out and enjoying your own back yard! nice one…. flowers are pretty, really lifts the soul.

  6. Jill
    Posted June 11, 2009 at 5:50 pm | Permalink

    …but who got to mow the lawn??..

    • thecatskillkiwi
      Posted June 11, 2009 at 5:52 pm | Permalink

      me i am the lawn mower HOG!

  7. Gabriel
    Posted June 11, 2009 at 8:26 pm | Permalink

    The flowers are amazing! What are the greens? They look beautiful.

    • thecatskillkiwi
      Posted June 12, 2009 at 7:25 pm | Permalink

      baby arugala, kale, mixed lettuces, radish’s… all delicious!

  8. Posted June 15, 2009 at 5:16 pm | Permalink

    That certainly does sound like a blissful day! There’s something beautiful about the simplicity of it all :0)


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

