from croissants to knishes

Mr Weiss and I left skid marks Saturday afternoon, as we burned outa town upstate, with a 2 day window of opportunity to check out what’s been going on since our Parisienne absence.  And with a butt load of tender tomato plants (courtesy of my guru gardener Gabriel), who are destined to meet their dirty patch.

I was also beside myself excited at…

a. the prospect of something I planted actually sprouting

and

b. curious about the length of the grass after our first mammoth mow down, now 2 weeks ago!

flower garden 1flower garden

I have to say I was not disappointed, it’s like wild bloody kingdom up here…. the grass length  straight out of Grey Gardens, complete with paranoia running rampant in my mind, as I tried to casually stroll “carefree” through the wilds, all the time sweatin bullets that some horrifying creature was going to leap out at me and scare me shitless.  Which it did, well a wild turkey sleeping peacefully in its grassy hiding spot,  the screams… dramatic I know BUT may I remind you I’m not Marie Osmond country, okay, I’m seriously a LITTLE bit country and A LOT city.  I am, however,  working on changing the ratio.

chairs

Anyway Mr Weiss went all Rambo with the weed whacker, which is my new favorite gadget,  then we had dueling lawn mowers and plowed that sucker down, decapitating all in our path, sorry pretty wild flowers, but I’ve got me nerves to think of.

fields of blue flowers

And then for the second time yesterday I almost crapped me pants again, but this time from shear delight and excitement! SUCCESS, there is life in the garden… yes sprouts and stuff… things are growing and not because they’re weeds or anything, stuff I put there, on purpose, not by accident, well you get the picture.

evidence

Mother nature, is truly a miracle giver…. and apparently a bit of a bitch,  as I checked the weather advisory for last night and there was a severe FROST warning in effect for the entire region. Stand back because the swearing then erupted.  After I regained my composure, Mr Weiss and I tarped over all my delicate treasures and we crossed our fingers for the night.

UPDATE…. UPDATE…. UPDATE….

I’ve been rumaging around in the garden all day, everything survived the freakish frosting that ocurred last night.  All the tomatoes are in and YES I did bring my lable maker down to the garden, doesn’t everyone? and they have been duly staked and marked.

tomato1

tomato 2

mystery growth at the end of left garden is getting bigger and bigger but still no clues as to what it is…. hmmmm

any ideas?

11 Comments

  1. Jacquie
    Posted June 1, 2009 at 5:26 pm | Permalink

    Wow, the place looks lovely T, congrats to you and Mr Weiss! And welcome back from Paris – what a romantic fella he is. From one gardener to another, you may need to thin out some of those sprouting seedlings to let the strong ones grow… xx

    • thecatskillkiwi
      Posted June 1, 2009 at 6:26 pm | Permalink

      do you think it can wait another week to do that or is it imperative now?

      • Jacquie
        Posted June 4, 2009 at 5:39 pm | Permalink

        Sorry, I only just noticed your question – yes, it can wait a bit (not too long though…).

  2. Mame Johnston
    Posted June 1, 2009 at 6:09 pm | Permalink

    Your peonies are ready to burst and I certainly hope the frost did not occur last night for you. You ought to see if Jim Whitney could cut your yard if you’re going to be away for any length of time. He does a great job and is very dependable to boot. I taught him about a hundred years ago, actually! He’s now in his mid-40s and does much of the mowing around town as well as snow plowing in winter.

    • thecatskillkiwi
      Posted June 1, 2009 at 6:15 pm | Permalink

      hi mame, that’s great advice, the lawn is going to positively kill me HA
      anyway its all spic and span now and mowed to within an inch of its life…
      but do you think i can cut some of the peonies now? i’d love to take some back to the city with me.

      • Mame Johnston
        Posted June 1, 2009 at 6:40 pm | Permalink

        Yes, you can cut them to transport to NYC, but just be aware of the ants that live on them. The ants do serve a purpose, however. Supposedly they eat the sticky substance around the buds to allow them to open. They are so beautiful and fragrant, as you may know. Enjoy!

  3. thecatskillkiwi
    Posted June 1, 2009 at 6:46 pm | Permalink

    peonies are my favorite flower, but this is the first year to enjoy home grown ones… we took over the house at the end of summer, so this is an added bonus and complete surprise!
    i will however watch out for the ants!

  4. Cynthia
    Posted June 2, 2009 at 1:25 am | Permalink

    rhubarb?

    • Mame Johnston
      Posted June 2, 2009 at 7:50 am | Permalink

      If it has a pinkish stem, then it is rhubarb. Excellent sauces, pies, etc. can be produced with it. Yummo! Eating it raw is not my favorite, but my sister-in-law does just that. Yowser.

      • thecatskillkiwi
        Posted June 2, 2009 at 1:56 pm | Permalink

        I would love to think its rhubarb, but the stem is entirely green….

  5. Cynthia
    Posted June 3, 2009 at 12:13 am | Permalink

    Hiya, recieved the CD in the post today – Thnaks (yet to listen to it)! Maybe we need to see a closer picture of the plant?


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 43 other followers

