whatever gratin

Yes Yes, I know every man and his dog has most likely got their own potato gratin recipe, which they stand by, rave about and generally don’t veer from… BUT if you’re in the mood to mix things up a bit, take a walk on the wild side, throw caution into the wind, let the chips fall where they may, okay I could rustle up a number of these saying’s but I’m sure you’ve already got the point.

My gratin generally consists (again a common theme), of any vegetable that has been long forgotten and is kicking about in the bottom of the fridge, just waiting to become the next science experiment (move over moldy cheese).  So you go on with your bad ass self and feel free to add that week old broccoli you’re sick of the sight of it and it needs to just go away,  sweet potatoes growing weird eye thingy’s, slice em on up, 1/2 a butternut squash that you can’t remember what you did with the other half and now what are you going to do with just half, celery root (otherwise known as celeriac) and what on earth possessed me to buy this in first place,  and who the hell know’s what your supposed to do with it anyway, but I bet you can slice it up, got some cauli leftover from bonanza’s “curried cauliflower”, chop it into florets and bung it all in.

Having said all that my gratin today consists of these vege’s, potato, onion, green and yellow zucchini, so I guess you could say I went off on a bit of a tangent then.  But I’m sure if you did it, it would be perfectly lovely.

gratin-copy

Gratin (these proportions will fit a 8 x 11 sized pan)

3 yukon gold potatoes sliced really thin, as thin as you can get them

2 zucchini (I had 1 green & 1 yellow), left over from our grillin dinner

1 onion sliced,

2/3 cup grated cheese (any kind) I used some kind of hard cheese, the label had fallen off

1 1/2 cup cream, heated with 1 sprig rosemary, 1/2 tsp mustard powder, 2 cloves garlic mushed (I used my favorite Trader Joes Dorot garlic) if you don’t have that, peel cloves mince really fine, then add a big pinch of kosher salt and using the back of a knife smear the garlic into a paste….. and if this feels to complicated just add minced garlic. Heat on low for about 3 minutes to combine and infuse.

Heat oven 375F

Caramelize onions in 1 tbsp oil, until golden brown.  Set aside.  Grease baking dish with butter, make one layer zucchini, one layer potato, one layer onion.  Pour half of the cream mixture over, sprinkle with 1/3 cup cheese, sprinkle pepper.  Repeat.  Finishing with cheese.  Cover with layer of buttered parchment (this will stop the cheese from sticking to foil) then wrap the dish in foil.  Bake in oven 30 mins, take off foil and parchment and bake another 30 mins. It will be golden brown, bubbling and MOLTEN hot!  Consider yourself warned.

4 Comments

  1. Stephanie
    Posted April 12, 2009 at 10:22 am | Permalink

    Great idea. I love your “throw it all in” takes on classic meals. Brilliant because it seems so obvious after reading your post! I also like that your motto seems to be “waste not” and to use everything in the fridge. The only idea I ever have for lingering produce is to oven roast it, and that gets really repetitive after a while!

  2. Posted July 26, 2010 at 12:32 pm | Permalink

    This sounds great! — even when the veggies aren’t “Science Experiment-bound”. Thanks!

  3. Posted July 26, 2010 at 12:33 pm | Permalink

    I don’t own a garlic crusher so I generally use the closest flat-bottomed jar to hand.

    • thecatskillkiwi
      Posted July 26, 2010 at 3:01 pm | Permalink

      this works well!


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

