ricotta

I was in the middle of chewing down last nights dinner, yes yes I know pizza again, by default this one was a little different thank you very much, but after explaining to Mr Weiss why there was a lack of mozzarella (funky) and ricotta (again funky… there’s generally at least one science experiment being conducted, unbeknownst to me, in the fridge at any given time).  I suddenly realized, now wait a cotton pickin minute, I know for a fact that I can whip up homemade ricotta with a few short ingreds in under 30 mins!  Goddam why can’t my brain keep up!  So next time when you’re reaching for the ricotta and you find it’s a bit whiffy, don’t panic, calm down and try this instead…. it comes from Roy Finamore’s book, Tasty, which is….. really Tasty, good job on the title Roy, and so far it’s my go to book for simple, delicious, fuss free cooking.

Ricotta

1 qt whole milk

1 c heavy cream

1 tsp coarse salt

2 tbsp white vinegar

ricotta-4-copy

Line a stainer with double layer wet cheesecloth. Set in bowl. In a pot add milk, cream and salt, simmer until you see bubbles all over the surface.  Turn off heat, pour in vinegar and let sit 1 min.  Stir slowly the milk it will start seperating into curds and whey, about 1 min of gentle stirring.  Pour into the cheesecloth, set over bowl and let stand 15 mins.  YAY fresh ricotta, you never knew it was that easy.

ricotta-snack1

7 Comments

  1. Mike
    Posted March 24, 2009 at 5:54 pm | Permalink

    I like this post.

  2. Gabriel
    Posted March 25, 2009 at 12:57 am | Permalink

    I love that Tasty cookbook! I’ve used it many times and always successful. Thanks for giving it to me. The only problem with the ricotta recipe is that heavy cream isn’t so much a staple I’d have on hand in the fridge unless I had plans for it. So if I have to go to the market and buy cream I’d be tempted to just stop in the dairy aisle and buy the ricotta. But it does sound easy enough if you have leftover cream. So for arguments sake, if you had a cow and you wanted to make pizza how would you seperate the cream from the milk to make the ricotta? Even more curious, how would you make the mozzerella. I guess I’m getting ahead of myself here.

  3. thecatskillkiwi
    Posted March 25, 2009 at 9:20 am | Permalink

    Well that is a conundrum now isn’t it! and yes you do need cream, but my gas station is only 5 mins away and they sell cream, as opposed to 30 mins to the supermarket.

  4. Posted March 25, 2009 at 1:44 pm | Permalink

    I find it really funny that this is another recipe with toast ;)

    • thecatskillkiwi
      Posted March 25, 2009 at 1:51 pm | Permalink

      Okay, so I officially have a BREAD/TOAST FETISH! I have been exposed….

  5. rachel
    Posted September 8, 2009 at 1:49 am | Permalink

    Now, this has been on my list for far too long – only 30 mins, well, it-s about time I got on with it then.
    I have been looking at your recipes and generally having a lovely time here, so glad to have found you (with a little help from that nice wednesday chef.)
    off to read some more, happy tuesday x

    • thecatskillkiwi
      Posted September 8, 2009 at 9:23 am | Permalink

      hey thanks for your comments and stopping by!


One Trackback/Pingback

  1. [...] 1/2 cup ricotta (don’t have?? you can always make your own… here) [...]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

